Don’t Tell Me What I Can & Cannot Do

24 Feb

I just got back from my weekly SGT (small group training) class. SGT is kind of like personal training where you work one-on-one with a trainer in a very small class of no more than 8 people. The trainer leads you through a variety of exercises all the while giving each member individualized attention and focusing on your skill set and abilities. I’ve been involved in SGTs at my gym since they were first introduced. During a most recent session, one member made a comment to me as I went to execute one exercise that I found rather upsetting. Specifically we were doing leg raises on the mat and it involved ankle weights. Our trainer gave us the option of using 5lb weights or 10lb weights. I decided to go for the 10lb weights because I knew it would be more challenging – plus I really want to strengthen my legs since I am running more.

As I strapped on the weights, the other member who in every other way is so nice and sweet and encouraging had advised me not to do the 10.  Inwardly, I was gob smacked and extremely frustrated.  Simply put, I just never expected to hear something like that from a woman, never mind her. Anyway, I did the leg raises and yes, it was challenging but I proved to myself, which was most important that I was able to do it.

One of my fave bloggers, Meghann Anderson of Meals and Miles went through something similar but with an older man. Here’s her story: http://mealsandmiles.com/2012/01/19/do-not-call-me-weak/#more-46034′

UPDATE 3-2-12: I spoke with the gym member who was very upset about the whole situation. It ended up just being a GIANT misunderstanding and things are fine now. Next time, instead of turning to the blog to air my grievance, I’ll talk to the person in question instead.

Leave a Reply

