A Runner

27 Feb

I don’t know when I became a runner. I think it just happened.

I ran my first 5K (YAI Central Park Challenge in June 2009). My paced was 15:30 and I finished in about 50 minutes. I finished last in my age group (20 to 29, I was 25 at the time) and I didn’t even run the entire thing – I did a walk/jog combo.

After that, I didn’t run until 2011. I participated in the EIF Revlon Run/Walk in Times Square. Also a 5K. I recall finishing in 37 minutes – I ran the entire thing, only stopping once for water/change a song on my iPod.

I also ran the LI Run for the Warriors (a 5K benefiting Veterans) in 2011 wherein I clocked in at 33:20.

On February 4, 2011, I ran the Gridiron Classic 4miler in Central Park. My finish time was 40:30 (at a net pace of 10:10).  My next race is on March 4th, the Coogan’s Salsa & Blues also in Washington Heights. That one is also a 5K.

I won’t lie… I am nervous. I am more nervous about the half-marathon in April that I am running with some friends. I just started to really incorporate long runs… (my schedule is insane so I do the best I can) and yesterday I did 6 miles in 70 minutes.

If you had told me in 2009 that the YAI 5K was going to be the first of many races down the line, I would have laughed.

But here I am.

Running more.

Logging miles.

Getting my stride checked out (I over pronate slightly on the left).

A runner.

One Response to “A Runner”

  1. jamievictoriatomc February 27, 2012 at 11:10 AM #

    AWESOME JOB!!! SO PROUD OF YOU 🙂 Keep up the great work! It will pay off !!!

Leave a Reply

