Coogan’s salsa, blues, and shamrocks 5k!

4 Mar

Today was my first ever Coogan’s salsa blues and shamrocks 5k which took place in Washington Heights. After getting up at 6:00 A.M. to catch a 6:43 train, hubby and I were off from one island to the city. Despite having lived in NYC for 26 years of my life, I had never ventured up to Washington Heights before.

Anyway, due to the number of people participating, we had a really slow start and I didn’t get to the start line until 5 minutes after the race began. I knew this race had a lot of hills and I was prepared to face them…kind of. The first few were OK and I kept my pace going. After awhile my legs began to tire and my chest began to burn but I kept chugging along. They had all sorts of bands playing and bagpipers too – between that and my iPod, I had the music to keep me going. However the last hill in did me in – I had to stop and walk some. It just seemed to be a never ending incline. However, I saw the finish line (way) ahead and after walking for like 10-15 seconds, I powered back into a run and did not stop.

Because of the slow start, my finish time on the clock said 39:00 and I was like WTF, that cannot be right. Sure enough, it wasn’t! My finish time was 30:14 with a net pace of 9:46! I had wanted to take off 10 seconds off my time and I took off 25! I also wanted to finish under 37 minutes and I finished in 30! I am beyond happy!

One more thing, in the beginning we got to see all the elite runners race and it was amazing! I can’t get over how fast they go! In sum: it was just a really festive and fun race.

Me post race waiting for the train downtown!

3 Responses to “Coogan’s salsa, blues, and shamrocks 5k!”

  1. Katie March 11, 2012 at 10:05 PM #

    Where did you get that awesome purse?! 😉

    • runninglongislandnyc March 12, 2012 at 8:55 AM #

      It was a gift from this amazing blonde chick with incredible taste. I think you might know her… 😉 XO

  2. jamie tomc March 8, 2012 at 4:05 PM #

    So awesome that is an awesome time.

Leave a Reply

