Running & Nutrition

8 Mar

Proper running shoes? Check.

Proper running gloves? Check.

Proper running clothes? Check.

Arm band? Check.

Proper nutrition… err… um… half check?

Now that I am running more, I am trying to focus on proper nutrition.  As a runner, diet is important not only for maintaining good health, but also to promote peak performance. Proper nutrition and hydration can make or break a workout or race, and also greatly affects how runners feel, work and think. Prior to getting into running, I was on a steady 1200-1600 calorie diet a day in my happy weight range. That allowed me to be fine on workout regimen and allowed (hence the 1600 end) for some snacks or a treat day. I have been working with a nutritionist for 2 years and that’s what we agreed on was best for me.

As I have increased my running, my body has been screaming for fuel – food. So my food intake has been upped A LOT. And it’s not easy – I am just so hungry. I drink a ton of water (hunger can be a sign of thirst – seriously) but that doesn’t help always. So I have been varying my food intake. Also my nutritionist said it’ll all even out once my body is used to running more and more. I sure hope so. It’s getting harder to bypass the bagels at Starbucks.

Anyway, I am not one to document my eats in picture form but I am going to do so this morning. In the bowl are Chia seeds, Chobani vanilla, blueberries, a banana, and a Kashi mocha almond bar mixed together. Hoping this fiber/protein mix will keep me full for a while. If not, I have a handy Larabar in my desk drawer to help.

Image

10K on Sunday – eek! Yesterday was my off day. Tomorrow I have boot camp so I think today will be a good running day.  Saturday is also a rest day plus I am going to a hockey game with the hubster in the evening. Go Devils! 🙂

Update: Since today was a food picture day, I had to take a picture of my yummy falafel lunch that I just inhaled after running (4.25 miles in 43 min) – isn’t it just so colorful and pretty?

 

In it: falafel, red onions, goat cheese, mesclun greens, tomatoes, roasted red peppers and tahini sauce. Yum!

One Response to “Running & Nutrition”

  1. jamie tomc March 8, 2012 at 4:03 PM #

    Omg that food looks delicious. Please keep me updated on what the nutritionest shares with u…I Def feel hungrier now that I’m marathon training!!

Leave a Reply

