Run, Rest, Repeat

16 Mar

Exercise not only involves eating healthy, working out at least 30 minutes per day (per WHO), but it also involves rest.

Wait – resting, i.e., taking a day off is key to being healthy? How so?

I am a big believe in not overdoing it. And I am 100% guilty of overdoing it. All the time. However, as I increase my running, I am becoming a better listener to my body. On Monday I did a kickboxing class and on Tuesday I did a small group training class.

Normally due to my schedule, Wednesdays are my off day. That meant Thursday I was to either do a class or go running. 

I decided on neither. It was a cold, gloomy day and even though the gym is like 2 minutes from my office, I just wasn’t in the mood. My legs were so sore from the 10K and kickboxing class and my arms and back killed from doing pull ups, burpees, etc. on Tuesday.

Naturally I felt guilty. But at the same time I realized that when I go to the gym, I like to give 100% and it wasn’t worth doing a half-assed workout for the sake of “working out.” I also didn’t want to overdo it and risk the chance of injury. Then I would really be S.O.L. In sum, it’s important to listen to your body. When it tells you something, heed its advice. I am probably way better off now having rested so much. Now I am pumped up to get back into the mix! 

Anyway, today I have SGT and I am going to that and tomorrow I am going to run after my eye doctor appointment. No races this weekend… boo. But I have my 15k soon! EEK!

Leave a Reply

