Unconventional Exercises

23 Mar

Recently while at the gym, someone approached me and commented on how fit I was and how great I looked. I always feel awkward when people compliment me (I am incredibly shy and I am not used to it). They wanted to know my secret.

It’s no secret, I tell them. I commit to healthy eating (with treats here and there) and exercise every day. I also exercise in unconventional ways. Aside from the usual “take the stairs” and “park in the far end of the lot so you have to walk more,” here are some exercises I do in addition to my regular routine.

  • Climb every other step when hitting the stairs;
  • Empty elevator? Do squats. Or standing abdominal crunches.
  • Your purse? You know it weighs like 10lbs. Use it do 1 armed bicep curls. Speaking of bicep curls, use your groceries bags as weights when you bring them into your home.
  • Waiting for the train or the bus? Do calf raises.

Most recently my niece Kathy turned 12. She had her birthday party at BounceU. Bounce U has amazing bouncey houses in a “stadium.” It’s for kids but adults can participate in the play. There was this one huge slide that you had to climb using rope on the sides. So I saw that as an opportunity to do some arm work. Then there was another slide that you had to climb/pull yourself up through a maze of elastic in order to get to. There was a boxing ring with inflatable gloves… simply put, by the end, I felt like I had put in an hour at the gym all the while just playing with my niece and her friends. 

Image

(There’s me on the slide!)

These are just some examples… there are plenty more out there. It’s just a sneaky but wonderful way to add exercise into your day.  And remember the minimum of exercise is 30 minutes a day and you don’t even have to do all 30 minutes at once.

Happy Friday! Wish me luck on Sunday’s 15k! 

Leave a Reply

