Jim Murphy 15K

25 Mar

Today was the much anticipated (on my part) Jim Murphy 15K with the Long Island Road Runners. This race was critical because to-date it is the longest run I have ever done. I only get to do my long runs on the weekends and after my 10K, I wasn’t sure if I had it in me. During the 10K, I hit the wall a lot faster than I expected to and I was worried about a repeat event.

The weather was not great. I had checked out the weather days prior and it called for low 40s (which is fine) but with on and off rain. I had hoped that the weather would change as we got closer but nope. It still called for rain. I have never run in the rain before and I was nervous about that too. My last concern was starting off way too fast, which occurred last time which also resulted in a rough run.

Well, I didn’t need to worry about any of that. My pace was steady and it did not rain. I had one of the best runs of my life. According to my iPod, I had a 9:43 pace. I finished in 1 hour and 38 minutes. Since this was my first 15K, I was going to set a personal best anyway and I told my hubby that I wanted to finish between 1 hour and 30 minutes to 1 hour and forty-five minutes. I finished my second in my age group and I even won a raffle.

My next race is next Sunday and it’s a 6 miler race. Cake! (Below are some pictures my wonderful hubby took – he even joined me mid-race for a a minute or two and we chatted around a bend in the road).

Leave a Reply

