April Fool’s 10K

1 Apr

Hey-o to everyone reading!

Today I ran the April Fool’s 10K with the LIRRC. I was hoping to redeem myself from the first 10K I ran with them. I woke up at 7:15, showered, grabbed a Lara bar and got ready. I grabbed my iPod and a Gu and off hubster and I went to Eisenhower Park. The ride over was way less eventful than last. I forgot to mention this in my last post but the last time we went, there was a car driving down the wrong side of the highway being chased by the police. The police pulled in front of the car and this one cop whipped out his nightstick, broke the passenger side window and dove in! It was a scene from the movies, I swear (except way more scary)!

Anyway, we get to the park and the whistle starts and boom, off we go! And then it all started happening again. First came the side stitch. Then around mile 2, I got incredibly nauseous. While I consider myself a newbie runner still, I have done enough running that I thought I was past all the GI distress that can occur with running.  Giving up was never an option but as I squatted in place trying not to hurl, I almost gave in. But I didn’t. I got up and continued running, albeit at a much slower pace, but continued on.  As I continued on, it did not get any easier, but I found the resolve in me to keep going. There are people who cannot run due to illness or injury. There are people who have gone on to run marathons after fighting cancer. So who was I to let minor GI distress best me?

I came in second in my age place and in comparison to my first 10K, I actually finished 20 seconds slower (1:03:58 versus 1:03:28). My pace though was pretty awesome – 9:45 according to my iPod. Afterwords I treated myself to a cinnamon raisin bagel (the LIRRC feeds us after, woot) and got my ribbon.

The next 10K it will be on! I will do way better. I know it! Next up is the Easter Bunny 5K and then my first half-marathon! So exciting! Here is a picture from today (not my best picture… I was trying to drink water… this was also around the 4 mi mark):

 

2 Responses to “April Fool’s 10K”

  1. Sarah April 2, 2012 at 6:53 AM #

    First of all, that story about the cop is crazy! I’m glad you were ok.
    I’m sorry to hear about this nausea thing. Have you thought about eating something different before your races. Maybe half a whole wheat bagel with peanut butter and a banana? Those energy bars can sometimes be tough to digest. Maybe try switching it up before your 5K and see how you do.
    Also, are you drinking a ton of water right before you start the race? That can cause problems too.
    I recently sat in on a sports nutrition seminar and would be happy to send you some info if you’re interested.
    Just a few thoughts, hope you can get to the bottom of this!

    • runninglongislandnyc April 2, 2012 at 9:34 AM #

      I think I am going to try eating something different and I like your suggestion of PB and a banana and 1/2 of a bagel. I definitely am going to do this before the 5K and see how it goes. Also I did drink more water than usual prior to the race, so all the sloshing could have been the issue. I would definitely love it if you could send me that info from the sports seminar you went too. Thanks so much for your advice and for reading! Have a great day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

