More/Fitness Magazine’s Half Marathon

13 Apr

Today was the opening of the More/Fitness Magazine half-marathon expo at Metropolitan Pavilion. I didn’t get to head down until after work and since it closed at 7:00 PM, I was hoping I wouldn’t miss too much. I picked up my bib (#6547) and my goody bag before heading in to the main event.  The expo was filled with vendors ranging from Sparkly Soul to Aveeno to Athleta and Duane Reade. I tried not to get too caught up in the excitement (there were signs for 20%-50% off everything…and I could’ve easily dropped serious $$ on sports gear). I just had fun walking around, trying samples, and scoring few samples. I did get a necklace with a 13.1 charm and two Sparkly Soul headbands. I met some really nice people while there and took tons of pictures.

The race is only two days away and I am nervous all the while not nervous. Weird, huh? I rested Wednesday and Thursday. I squeezed in a last workout today since I had small group training (SGT). We did a mix of a Tabata workout, which was intense but fun (of course I say this now, after the fact, ha!).

Last minute note: usually my races are done solo but for this race I am running with my friends from college. They’re coming in to the city from Massachusetts and upstate New York/Connecticut. I am excited to see them and embark on this experience with them!

All my training has come down to Sunday. My first half marathon!!! My friend Jamie from college (hi!) is running the Boston Marathon on Monday. It’s her first ever. So be sure to wish her luck too at her blog: http://jamievictoriatomc.wordpress.com

Below are pics from today:

Swag!

Here we go!!! 🙂

2 Responses to “More/Fitness Magazine’s Half Marathon”

  1. jamievictoriatomc April 13, 2012 at 11:05 PM #

    YAY!!! Thanks for the shout out 🙂 Good luck! Looks like we were doing similar things today! You are gonna do awesome…remember mind over matter…and always remember to have fun!!! XOX

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More/fitness Magazine’s Half Marathon, April 15, 2012 « Asics Mom - April 16, 2012

    […] Running Long Island […]

Leave a Reply

