Foodie Pen Pals Reveal!!

30 Apr
The Lean Green Bean

HAPPY REVEAL DAY to all foodie pen pals in the US & UK!

Lindsay over at The Lean Green Bean (www.theleangreenbean.com) hosts a penpal exchange every month but with food! The premise is simple: once a month you get matched up with another blogger or blog reader and have to send them a box filled with lots of delicious treats or healthy snacks. You have a limit to spend ($15.00) and at the end of every month, all who participated in the month do a big REVEAL.

It’s a great way to meet new bloggers and, let’s be honest, who doesn’t like receiving fun things in the mail?  It was my first month participating and I was super excited (so excited that I signed up for May already).

My foodie penpal was Katy and she sent me a very awesome yummy box. Everyday I checked my mail in hopes that it would come and then wham, finally, it did!

Here are some pictures of what I got: 

Items include:

  • Apple cinnamon chips
  • Orville Redenbacher Lime & Salt popcorn
  • Biscoff spread
  • Biscoff cookies (homemade)
  • Blue Diamond bold Habanero bbq almonds
  • Rocky Mountain chocolate huckleberry bar (say whaaat?!)
  • Recipe re: Biscoff cookies & lovely cared from Katy

So Katy is a woman after my own heart sending me a mix of sweet and salty treats. The Biscoff cookies are freaking amazeballs and my husband enjoyed them in addition to myself. I’d come home and immediately shove one in my mouth. I have 4 left and I am staggering them out. I am so happy that Katy provided me with the recipe as well – I cannot wait to make them at home.

I love apples. I love chips. So when I saw the apple chips, I was excited! I take classes in the evenings and snacks like these are good to have en route to/from rather than snacking on really bad for chips.

The two items my eyebrow went up at were the almonds and chocolate bar. I was not sure if I was going to like them at first but those doubts were soon washed away.  The chocolate is super decadent and I have not had anything like it before. So.Good.

I have not had the lime-salt popcorn yet but I am excited to try it out. I am in the midst of finals (one more to go this week) and once I am done, I think I am going to have a big movie night in with the hubster and pop a bag. Maybe with a few cervezas (beer)… 😉

So THANK YOU Katy for being super great. I loved my box of treats!

I sent a box from the East Coast to Keeley over on the West Coast. She will be doing a guest post for the blog soonish and she can tell you all about the yummy treats I sent her.

Again, I cannot wait for May! This is so much fun! If you want to participate (and who wouldn’t), here is the lowdown:

  • On the 5th of every month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.
  • You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal!
  •  The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!
  • You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)
  • Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. If you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you are to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. If two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month. 
  • Foodie Penpals is open to US & Canadian residents.  Please note, Canadian Residents will be paired with other Canadians only. We’ve determined things might get too slow and backed up if we’re trying to send foods through customs across the border from US to Canada and vice versa.

You have until May 4th to be able to participate for this coming month (foodies will be assigned on the 5th). Head over to The Lean Green Bean (www.theleangreenbean.com) to sign up!

One Response to “Foodie Pen Pals Reveal!!”

  1. Lindsay (@LeanGrnBeanBlog) May 2, 2012 at 12:02 AM #

    biscoff cookies?! luckkkkkyyyy

Leave a Reply

