Long Island Marathon Weekend!

8 May

I ran the Long Island half marathon this past weekend which was part of the Long Island Marathon series through RxR/TIAA-CREF. The series included a 1 mile fun run, a 5K, a 10K, the half-marathon and the marathon.

I had not done much training from the last half marathon and I am still trying to figure out if that was a good or a bad move. Was it good that I rested and didn’t run too much? Or should I have gotten the mileage in? At the same time, I didn’t want to over train and risk injury.

I finished with my exact same time, except for maybe a 5 second difference. Though I am happy I finished the race, I am not happy with my time. I was hoping I was going to finish at 2:15 – I seemed to be on track to finish around that time when I hit the wall around mile 9 and I hit it HARD. I struggled to continue the race and I took frequent walk breaks since my legs were just burning by then.

There were a lot of other disappointments with the race: lack of port-a-potties, the fact that the water stations were not ready for the runners, lack of corrals, etc. The worst was the seemingly narrow trek to the finish line (specifically the last .23). I felt like all the runners were smashed into each other as people on the sidelines screamed that we can do it. Someone was like “you have 1 more block!” and I bit my tongue because after going 13 miles, that 1 block felt like hell.

Anyway, I got my shiny medal and my bagel and collapsed when I saw the hubster. We were going to take pictures but by the time my husband parked, the race had already begun (I had gotten out of the car and ran to the start line with 6 minutes to spare) and after the race finished, I just wanted to get out of the park and go home. There were photographers there and pictures are supposed to be up tomorrow so if there are any of me, I will post asap. In the meantime, check out the below:

 

And of course, since I am a glutton for punishment, I signed up for my next half – Grete’s Great Gallop and the Divas Half Marathon – both which are in the Fall.

Coming up this weekend though is Japan Day (4mi) in Central Park. I look forward to 4 simple miles.  🙂

Leave a Reply

