Miles for Melanoma 5K

24 May

Hello, hello ladies and gents. Sorry for slacking on posting. Work has been nuts and I just started my summer session classes for my MSW… in a nutshell, it’s been busy!

Despite my hectic schedule, I made sure to carve out some “me” time and get to the gym, train, run, etc. I really try not to miss a day of being active (Wednesdays/Saturdays are my rest days typically). Aside from the physical health benefits, I truly cherish the mental health benefits exercise provides. When I run or am doing a boot camp class, I can harness whatever negative energy/stress I have and use that to fuel me through. Running in particular, helps me clear my mind and focus. Plus the endorphin high is awesome. 🙂

With the summer rapidly approaching (28 days! Ack!), it seems that every magazine, article, etc. I’ve read has had something to do with skin cancer. New Jersey’s own “Tan Mom” has also sparked the debate about tanning beds and how young is too young to tan.

With my fair skin, I don’t “tan.” When exposed to the sun, I turn bright red and resemble a lobster with hair attached. When I was younger, I used a tanning booth twice and then freaked out about skin cancer and never went back. However, that did not stop me from trying to tan during the summer at the beach. Countless painful sunburns later, I now slather on SPF like its nobody’s business.

When I saw that the Long Island Road Runner’s Club was hosting the Colette Coyne Melanoma Awareness Campaign (CCMAC) Miles for Melanoma 5K, I quickly signed up as a) I love to race and b) it was for a good cause.

I was surprised to see that a small festival was at the race. Radio station Fresh 102.7 was there as was Snapple. After sampling some of Snapple’s newest line of drinks, I lined up at the 5K start and boom, we were off! It was super hot out (80 degreees) and I am not used to running in heat so in the middle of the race, I wanted to strip down to my skivvies.

I finished the race in 30 minutes (not my best but that’s okay, it was only a few seconds over my best) and finished in 1st place for my age group, woo hoo! 🙂

After the race, I hit up Snapple again and got a full bottle of their new lightly sweetened white tea line. There are 2 flavors: Peach Passion Fruit and Cherry Pomegranate.  Both flavors were tasty, but I was over the moon of the Peach Passion Fruit, which reminded me a lot of their Peach iced tea – very clean, light, and subtly sweet. The Cherry Pomegranate was sweet and crisp. My husband like the Peach better.  What I liked so much about the drinks are that they are 80 calories for the WHOLE bottle. And the bottle is just 1 serving. It’s awesome. Plus, the drinks are all natural and contain approximately 4 ingredients: tea leaves, filtered water, sugar, and citric acid. I normally abstain from sugar and stick to 0 calorie sweeteners, but this was such a bargain at 18 grams. That’s less than a can of soda, red bull, and other drinks out there.

I definitely recommend trying the drinks at least. Anyway, check out some pictures from the race below!

I also have some super fun and exciting news to share in my next post! Keep your eyes peeled! In the meantime, have a great Thursday. It’s almost Friday, yay!

Leave a Reply

