Girl Power (Pink Style)!

2 Jun

Hola folks! Hope everyone is having a fabulous Saturday thus far. I am currently at my internship but taking a little break to update the blog. Since my last post, I have some fun news to share! First off, I am so excited to announce that I was selected by FitApproach to be one of their #SweatPink Ambassadors!

Fit Approach Sweat Pink Ambassador Badge

Fit Approach is both an online and offline community of health and fitness enthusiasts. Their mission statement is:

We believe that kicking ass is best done in pretty shoes. We’ve learned that real women sweat, and sweat hard. We know that assertiveness, strength, and ambition are the ultimate feminine qualities. We concede that sometimes it takes hours to get ready, but we’re also no strangers to just rolling out of bed and going. We’re convinced that we run faster in pink shoelaces. We believe in pushing ourselves, and we believe in giving ourselves a break, too. We’re all about the rush of endorphins and the thrill of the challenge. We’re all for looking great and feeling even better. We’re committed to finding our best fit, and making it stick. (http://www.fitapproach.com/about/)

Sweat Pink Ambassadors live the Fit Approach mission every day: they sweat hard, play hard, and inspire those around them to achieve their best selves. (http://www.fitapproach.com/sweat-pink-ambassador/)

I seriously considered applying (never once thinking I’d be chosen) and wham, I was! I am so excited to be part of this Ambassador program. I really cannot believe how far I’ve come along in my fitness/health journey. Never once did I think I’d be able to inspire others but I get it all the time – at the gym, friends at home, family, etc.

I am supposed to get a welcome kit soon with goodies to pass along to my community so they can #sweatpink too and I cannot wait to be able to do so.

In other exciting news, I was going through my Twitter feed and saw that Girls on the Run (GOTR) – Manhattan is hosting a 5K next weekend and that they are looking for running buddies. A running buddy serves as the personal cheerleader to one girl throughout the 3.1 mile course. When I saw this, I just knew I had to sign up and be a running buddy for a girl out there. Registration wasn’t cheap and neither was sponsoring a girl, but it’s for a good cause. I think GOTR is a fabulous program that uses a combination of running and self esteem enhancing lessons to encourage healthy habits and active lifestyles in 8-13 year old girls. With the obesity epidemic on the rise, it is more crucial now than ever to encourage children, especially girls, to live active, healthy lives.

You can find more information about it here: (http://www.gotrm.org/) I encourage everyone to sign up for this really awesome cause! I just hope I can keep up with whomever I am paired up with!

2 Responses to “Girl Power (Pink Style)!”

  1. Alyse June 4, 2012 at 11:21 AM #

    We are SO excited to have you as an Ambassador! Thanks for sweating pink with us – and for being so all-around awesome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

