Girl Power Weekend – Day 1

9 Jun

My virtual medal

The back of my virtual medal

This morning was the NYRR Women’s Mini 10K. It was the 40th anniversary of the race. Did you know when the race first premiered, only 78 women participated? The overall winner was a mere 17 years old at the time. Today there was over 6,000 women running. I was quite excited to be running the race and to be meeting a fellow SweatPink ambassador, Jen for the first time. I had to get up extremely early to take the train (4:10 A.M., ouch) into the city and meet up with her. We took the train up to Central Park, got Jen checked in, tagged our bags, and met up with some other runner friends of Jen’s before heading to the start line. We had time to kill, so we decided to take advantage of the still clean port-a-potties and grab some water.

Before we knew it, it was time to line up in our corrals. Jen and I said goodbye and at the same time, the butterflies started. I don’t know why I was nervous – I’ve run 10Ks before. Hell, I’ve run 15Ks and 2 ½ marathons. Either way, the nerves were there. Once the race started, the butterflies left and I got into a rhythm.

I knew we were running up Harlem Hills and down Cat Hill (I’ve run up both of them). I still have yet to get “used” to them. My pace slowed at Harlem Hills and I had to power through it. Running down Cat Hill was super fun, I felt like I was flying. Anyway, I made sure to get plenty of fluid and was glad I brought a Gu with me – I quickly downed that sucker at mile 4.

What I enjoyed especially about this race is that it was a women’s only race. Women were cheering each other on the whole time. When I got to about 200 meters, this woman (who had finished and was on the outside barricades) was like “you got this girl, 200 meters is right there and after that it’s the finish!” I could barely hear her through my iPod but it meant a lot that some woman who I did not know was encouraging me.

Anyway, I finished with a 1:07 time, which is not my best and I was a little disappointed with that time. My best is 1:03. The hills really killed me so, I am assuming it was just that because I felt pretty good overall.

At the end we got lots of goodies: a finisher’s medal; a pink carnation (now hanging up at my office); an ice pop (I got orange); a bagel; and a plum. The bagel, ice pop, and plum have taken up residence in my belly now.

I am posting some pictures below for your pleasure. I am hoping the professional ones come out good. We’ll see.

Representing #sweatpink

Jen (RuntoDreams) and me pre-race!

NYRR’s motto: Run for Life

It’s the finish line!

Corrals – mine was the light blue ahead.

Finisher’s medal & carnation ❤

Anyway, that’s all from me for now. Girl power weekend continues tomorrow with Girls on the Run 5K!

3 Responses to “Girl Power Weekend – Day 1”

  1. Jamie Walker June 12, 2012 at 1:57 PM #

    Love this! So great that you two met up and could #SweatPink together!

  2. arunnersstory June 9, 2012 at 5:52 PM #

    had alot of fun today!!! #sweat pink!! How come I cannot get my badge in my blog? 😦

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. NYC Mini 10k Finisher!! | A Runner's Story - June 9, 2012

    […] will update you more with some pics from the race, soon, but in the meantime, check out Kassandras […]

Leave a Reply

