Girl Power Weekend – Day 2

11 Jun

After pushing myself some 6.2 miles or so on Saturday, I geared myself for another 3.1 miles with Girls on the Run. The hubster and I took a cab from Penn Station to Asphalt Green which is all the way on the Upper West Side. After checking in, I headed over to my assigned school (P.S. 385) to meet with the coaches and see who my running buddy was.

After making some friendly chit-chat with other running buddies that were also there early, the girls arrived with their coach. I was paired with Yasnis (I just butchered the spelling of her name. Sigh), an 11 year old. Little did I know that I was going to be paired with one of the 2 fastest girls in the group.

I didn’t wear my arm band with my iPod so I don’t know exactly what time we finished at, but we were the first to finish for her class (I know that’s not what it was about, but it’s a fun bragging right for her).  It was incredibly hot out and though we ran along the FDR drive (by the East River), there was no breeze to be had. At the half-way point, we guzzled water and continued running. We took maybe 2 walk breaks on the way to the finish line. I think all in all, we finished around 40 minutes.  Again, my girl was fast – she pushed me to a pace that was outside my comfort level. I told her that she became my running buddy, inspiring me to push harder.

After the finish, the girls got swag bags, a finisher’s medal, and a certificate of completion. These kids inspired me to a whole new level and I think once I am done with the 8 million other things I have going on with work, school, and internship, I might seriously consider joining Girls on the Run as a coach.

Of course, I took pictures. Enjoy and have a great week!

Me, on my way!

Sunscreen station

Pre-Race

More pre-race festivities

Asphalt Green

Fueling up with bagels!

And bananas too!!

Almost start time!

Spectators

Time to line up!!

PS 385 in The Bronx, woot!

Me standing in line post race at the ‘bucks, needing some iced coffee.

3 Responses to “Girl Power Weekend – Day 2”

  1. andrea stanley June 12, 2012 at 2:25 PM #

    I coached girls on the run last year and had a wonderful time! It is a great program. I hope to coach again real soon!

  2. Jamie Walker June 12, 2012 at 1:56 PM #

    Awesome work out there!

  3. arunnersstorynn June 11, 2012 at 9:51 AM #

    i wanna join as a coach as well!!
    great job, told you that my luck i be paired with a fast one!!!

Leave a Reply

