Teaching an Old Dog New Tricks

19 Jun

I want this to be me! At the least the bike ride part, though the abs I wouldn’t mind.

My name is Kasandra and I don’t know how to ride a bicycle. (Waits for everyone to sound off a Hi, Kasandra). Yes, I don’t know how to ride a bike. I am 27 and don’t know how to ride a bike. Or drive (I am working on this one too). How did I grow up and never learn you ask? Well, I had training wheels on my bike when I was a kid and became a chicken when my dad took them off. I remember wobbling, falling off, and thinking, “this is not for me” all whilst crying because I skinned my knee.

All of this is normal when learning how to ride. Except, I did not get back on.

Now that I am older, I want to be able to bike ride – it’s so good for you and it’s a very green action (I want to do my part with the planet – like our bodies, we only get one!). Also, how’s it going to look when I have a kid and I can’t teach him/her to get on the bike? Or go on a ride with them?

So, with that said, does any body have any recommendations for a bicycle? I don’t want anything too pricey since I am just beginning.  I don’t mind the bumps and bruises now – I just want to cross it off my New Year’s 2012 resolution list – the year is half way over!! I don’t want to add it to 2013’s list (that is if the Mayan’s are not correct).

Happy Tuesday and don’t forget to get your #sweatpink on!! (Speaking of SweatPink, I’ll be hosting my very first raffle soon for some stylish pink laces, woo hoo!).

One Response to “Teaching an Old Dog New Tricks”

  1. Hafina June 20, 2012 at 5:47 PM #

    I like the bick I just got
    http://www.target.com/p/forge-women-s-athena-m-17-comfort-bike-sky-blue/-/A-10476134
    or look around for a used one and then take it to a bike shop for a tune up. And get a well fitting stylish helmet (brain injuries are not becoming)

Leave a Reply

