Hot Summer in the City

23 Jun

Summer solstice is the day of the year with the longest period of daylight. How did you spend your summer solstice? I spent mine practicing yoga in the middle of Time Square.

Athleta and the Times Square Alliance hosted Solstice in Times Square: Athleta Mind Over Madness Yoga. Attendees were challenged to find tranquility and transcendence in the midst of the world’s most commercial and frenetic place, Times Square. Thousands of yoga enthusiasts came to participate in an all day yoga fest.

Participants received a Solstice gift bag and Athleta provided free Manduka yoga mats to the first 1,500 that arrived to each class. Between classes, there was an Athleta Fashion show and music from Prasanna. Plus, there were lots of free giveaways, raffles and more at the Solstice Yoga Village.

Because of my schedule, I was only able to attend the early morning session, which started at 7:30 A.M. until 8:45 A.M. That meant I was on the train at 5:15 A.M. – I had to make sure that I got there on time because of two things: 1) I was meeting fellow SweatPink ambassador Melissa and 2) I really wanted a yoga mat. My yoga mat was annihilated by my cats who found their ohm by scratching it all up.

Anyway, it turned out that this day marked the beginning of a 3-day heat wave in New York City.  It was already 85 degrees when I got to Times Square (I felt bad for anyone who went later on in the day when the temperatures reached 100 degrees with a real feel of 107 degrees). Melissa and I lucked out and found pretty good spots to get our yoga on. If we came any later, we would not have been so lucky. Melissa is so nice! We instantly clicked and she invited me to come join her on a training run with the running club she is in. She’s also super-bad ass, training for a marathon and is going to become a Yoga instructor.  Rock on Melissa!

Sign in Times Square detailing the days’ events

Another sign spotted on my way to check-in

Times Square at 6:15 AM – normally never this quiet

Solstice Village!

More of Solstice Village!

Mindful awareness relaxation

Melissa and I – Tree Pose for the Win!

After yoga, I had to run off to my internship. I was sad I couldn’t stay and check out the Yoga Village. I did manage to get a free sample of Tribe garlic hummus with some crackers as I ran through to get to the train. One word: YUM!

I really enjoy yoga and wish I had more time in my schedule to fit it in. My life is so hectic and crazy and I would love to be able to practice more mind(ful)-body awareness. I think it would be extremely beneficial to me as a runner and a social worker.  There is a yoga center a few minutes from my home and I think once my summer classes and internship are over, I am going to join.

Tomorrow’s my race at MetLife Stadium (Duane Reade and Walgreen’s: Giants Run of Champions 5K). Wish me luck! In the meantime, Namaste (oh and GO JETS!).

2 Responses to “Hot Summer in the City”

  1. Nicole June 24, 2012 at 9:05 PM #

    I really wanted to go to this event! It looks like you guys had a great time!!

  2. Andrea S June 23, 2012 at 7:15 PM #

    Good Luck!!! Love the tree pose Awesome!

Leave a Reply

