Running with Giants!

26 Jun

Happy Tuesday folks!

I woke up Monday morning feeling as if I were hit by a Mack truck.  On Saturday I went to my husband’s ten year high school reunion and I had maybe one too many drinks (did my patriotic duty and had lots of Yuengling, which the oldest brewery in the good ol’ US of A). And then I went to a diner and ate a grease bomb of fries and chicken fingers. So on Sunday morning, the last thing I wanted to do was to run a 5K. My stomach was a wreck and I was so sleepy.  However, I knew I would be meeting up with Jen and that getting a chance to run through MetLife stadium might be a once in a lifetime opportunity.  With the help of my husband, I crawled out of bed and got ready.

After driving from Long Island for what seemed like forever (I slept most of it), we arrived at MetLife stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey.  (In my opinion, it will forever be The Meadowlands, the same way CitiField (home of the NY Mets) will forever be known to me as Shea Stadium.)

MetLife Stadium

A sign welcoming runners!

Another sign at the stadium

Before the race, there were various activities/festivities going on. I stopped at a few booths quickly just to get a sense of what was going on. It was close to race o’clock and I didn’t want to miss the start.  I even got a free pedometer (woot!) from Walgreen’s and Duane Reade who sponsored the race.

Kind of self-explanatory

Pre-race announcements being made.

It’s me and my bud, Lucy! I need to get therapist tips from her.

NYRR t-shirt & bib booth

After quickly meeting up with Jen and a friend of hers, I was off to my corral.  As I stated in my last post, New York City had recently had a heat wave. Though the temperatures were nowhere near as high as they were last week, it was still pretty warm out (mid 80-s). Before the horn sounded, we were lectured on staying hydrated throughout the course.

Aside from two on-ramps, the course was flat (it was mostly a loop outside the perimeter of the stadium, until the last ½ mile when we entered the stadium and got to run down into the field and into the end zone). I was super hot and sweaty throughout the race and took water breaks at each water station and even ran through the hose they set up to cool off the runners.

Before I knew it, I was in the stadium and the second I ran onto the field, I nearly teared up. Was I nuts for even considering not running? It was an amazing feeling. My husband met me on the 40 yard line.  It was a cool experience for him too since he is a HUGE Jets fan and the Giants and Jets share the stadium.

Hello goal post!

Me on the field!

Me & the hubster!

Anyway, with all the water stops, I added 2 minutes to my time (barf), finishing in at 32 minutes. I need to get more acquainted with running in the heat. I have the Queens 10K next weekend and that’s 6.2 miles in 85 degree weather (so the forecast claims this far out). Below are more pictures that were taken!

Hey hey, Tebow’s a Jet now!

View from the field

Another shot from the field (immediately from the finish line)

Spectators!

Through the finish line!

I really am so grateful to the NYRR for putting up this event and hope that it becomes an annual race!

Leave a Reply

