Queens 10K!

2 Jul

 

I started my July off by running 6.2 hot and sticky miles through Flushing Meadows-Corona Park. The New York Road Runners hosted the third leg of the 5 Borough Challenge. The course was newly designed and luckily, it meant primarily flat.

I stepped out of my house and was relieved it was pretty cool out. However, by the time I made it out to Queens, it was 85 and climbing. I met up with fellow sweatpink sister, Jen and her beau at our corral and jointly lamented about the heat. We also wished each other a safe run. With the heat, it’s foolish to be a hero. This is no time to set a PR or anything of the sort (if you did, well, hey now, congrats!).

I stopped at 12 out of the 15 cooling stations/fluid stations. I allowed some walk breaks (not for fatigue but just the heat) and even took off my tank after mile 2 in desperation to stay cool. Running in just shorts and a sports bra for the next 4 miles was the smartest move I made. I didn’t care about my stomach jiggling. I cared about running safely.

Running through the park was a blast. My favorite parts were running by CitiField (I’m a Yankees fan but still, it was neat!) and by the Unisphere (from the World’s Fair) with the fountains going off.

I’ve said it before, the heat affects my time. I finished 5 minutes later than my best (68 minutes vs 63). I was surprised. I thought it’d be more. Once done, I got my medal, bag of pretzels, and plum (mine was rotted, so I tossed it).

This is race #8 for me. One more plus a volunteer opp gets me in to the marathon next year! Ahh!!

Below are some pics for your viewing pleasure:

20120702-220629.jpg

20120702-220740.jpg

20120702-220757.jpg

20120702-220808.jpg

20120702-221013.jpg

20120702-221034.jpg

2 Responses to “Queens 10K!”

  1. Megan@ Run Like a Grl July 9, 2012 at 7:37 PM #

    Awesome job!! Maybe I’ll run this next year, looks like a nice course. Almost got your 9+1.. congrats! I have 4 more races to go for it then NYCM next year. Ah!

  2. Runninglovingliving (@tonee78) July 2, 2012 at 11:17 PM #

    Great job!! I was there too and it was a rough race, way hot!! Thank god it was flat!

Leave a Reply

