Fueling my Fitness

22 Jul

Happy Sunday folks! Sorry things have been so quiet. I have been wrapping up my summer classes at NYU and I have no races planned this month, aside from the Queens 10K I did earlier this month. However, that does not mean I have not been doing anything at all. Well, that’s not entirely true. I actually took two weeks off from the gym (eek!) because I was sick as I mentioned.  Now that I am better, I am going to start amping up my race training as August is jam packed with races (gulp)! I even figured out a good running loop by my house that I can easily do.

This past week I started to incorporate more Pilates and Yoga into my schedule. My gym offers both, but I can’t ever make it when they have Yoga. Luckily, there is a Yoga studio by my house and they offered a free class to all new students. I hustled this morning to make it (I am not a morning person at all) and made it just in time.

It was amazing. I knew that my body was kind of tight from all the training and running I do, but I had no idea how bad it was! That was a huge wake up call! The class was small, which provided an intimate feeling. It allowed for one-on-one personal instruction, which I loved. After many back bends and shoulder stands, we said Namaste. I quickly signed up to become a member of the studio and cannot wait for my next class!

After yoga and a quick breakfast with my hubs, I went home and decided to incorporate some more stretching. Fellow blogger Carlyn turned me on to the iPhone app called Nike Training Club.

Nike Training Club Opening Screenshot

As the App Store states

Nike Training Club gives you your own personal trainer, anytime, anywhere. Get lean, toned and strong with more than 85 custom-built workouts. Unlock exclusive extra workouts from celebrities like Lea Michele, professional athletes like Shawn Johnson, and Rihanna’s personal trainer, Ary Nuñez.

Carlyn gave an amazing review and since it was free, I figured I had to try it out for myself. This app by far, is my favorite app ever! It really is like having your own personal trainer at all times. There are a variety of workouts to try at various intensity levels, depending where you are in your fitness life. The workouts are categorized under what goal you have including, “Get Lean,” “Get Toned,” “Get Strong,” and “Get Focused.”  I originally did “Shakedown” under the “Get Lean” category on Friday and boy, did I get a workout. It reminded me of one of my favorite gym instructors/personal trainers at my gym. I also liked that the app encouraged you to keep going and reminded how much time was left in each exercise.

So today, I chose the stretch routine that was demonstrated by Olympic gymnast, Shawn Johnson. Shawn led the fifteen minute stretch sequence which helped me loosen up any other muscles that were still tight after yoga.  I highly encourage you all to download this app. It’s so great. And best of all, it is FREE!!! Woot! This is a great app for those who are time crunched or can’t make it to the gym for other reasons.

In other fitness related news, I bought this awesome FitFluential tank top on ViewSport. I may not be an Ambassador (yet!) but I am an Influencer/Enthusiast. ViewSport makes these awesome shirts/tanks that are sweat activated to reveal a secret message. For the Fitfluential tank, the secret message is #proof, which is one of their hashtags on Twitter.

Fitfluential

 

And in even more exciting news, I am going to be attending a SweatPink bootcamp on August 2nd and August 3rd in Bryant Park. SweatPink founders Jamie and Alyse who will be in town for the BlogHer 2012 Conference. I cannot attend the conference (#sadpanda) unfortunately. But I am very excited to meet the SweatPink founders and other BlogHer conference attendees and other fellow SweatPink Ambassadors!

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!! This gal’s out!

One Response to “Fueling my Fitness”

  1. Bean July 23, 2012 at 9:49 AM #

    That is so great you get to go to the SweatPink bootcamp! I hope you have lots of fun, I will have to live vicariously through you:)

Leave a Reply

