The Liebster Award!

3 Aug

This week, I was honored not only once, but TWICE for the Liebster Award by Shannon and Jen.

What is the Liebster Award?

The Liebster Award is given to upcoming bloggers who have less than 200 followers.  The meaning: Liebster is German and means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing and welcome.

Awww! A BIG, HUGE, thank you goes to Shannon and Jen for considering me. I am very honored.

Here are the rules for receiving the Liebster Award:

1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.

2. Then answer the questions the tagger sent for them, plus create 11 questions for the people they’ve tagged to answer.

3. Choose 11 people and link them in your post.

4. Notify the people you have tagged.

5. No tag backs!

***

Here are 11 things about me:

1.  I am distantly related to Martin Alonso Pinzon, who sailed with Christopher Columbus on The Pinta.

2. Speaking of celebrity status, I met George Clooney on my 12th birthday.

3. I have 4 tattoos and plan on getting more.

4. I have never been west of the Hudson River.

5. I am getting my Masters in Social Work and am more than ½ way through with that.

6. I like olive oil and olive tapenade, but I hate olives themselves.

7. I love horror movies but my husband won’t let me watch them because I’ll have nightmares afterwards.

8. I don’t like very hoppy beers.  Yuck!

9. I never wear heels unless it’s to an event. I run around in flats all the time. If I could, I’d live in flip flops.

10. I don’t know how to drive, swim, or ride a bike.

11. I don’t look it, but I am 100 % Puerto Rican and am fluent in Spanish

Since I was nominated twice, I am answering both Shannon’s and Jen’s questions. So bear with me – there’s a lot:

Shannon’s Q’s:

Do you have any pets? If so, what kind are they?

I have a total of 6 cats – no, I am not a crazy cat lady. Three of them live with my mom (Licorice, Horatio, and Milo) – she kept them after I moved.  I have three with me (Dante, Nicky, and Marty). I got them after I moved – I was kind of “cat-sick.”

What is your favorite fitness sport/activity?

Running!

What book are you currently reading?

Runner’s World Big Book of Running. #runnerd

Do you have a favorite podcast you listen to? If so, what is it? 

I don’t actually. I love Pandora and make all sorts of random stations.

Favorite guilty food pleasure? Is it cake, cookies, candy? 

Um, too many too list. I think my ultimate favorite thing is good, high quality, dark chocolate. The more bitter it is, the better.

Is there a race that’s on your bucket list? What is it? 

The New York City Marathon. I’m looking right at you in 2013!

Are you a country girl/mountain girl/city girl? 

City girl all the way.

Favorite summer Olympic sport you won’t miss? 

Gymnastics!

If you could witness any event past, present or future, what would it be? 

I think I would’ve liked to have seen anything that took place in ancient Egypt.

What is your favorite season and why? 

The Fall, because my birthday is in it.

Do you prefer to workout alone or with others? Why?  

Others – it keeps me accountable.

And now… Jen’s Q’s for me:

What is your favorite workout? 

Heheh, running.

Who inspires or motivates you and why?  

Kara Goucher – I admire her determination, and focus all the while being married and a mom. She is also a fellow New Yorker.  She is going to be in the marathon in London this weekend and I am rooting for her all the way!

What is your favorite movie? 

You’ve Got Mail.

Name something on your bucket list (have or have not done) 

Do an Ironman.

What is your favorite food? 

My momma’s lasagna.  So, so good.

What is your favorite workout accessory? 

My sparklysoul headbands! They keep my hair in place and keep me looking tres chic.

Where is your favorite place to travel to? 

I don’t travel much, but if I could go back right now, it would be to Ireland. I went with my hubster (then fiancé) and I didn’t think I’d love the country as much as I do now. I am not even Irish!

What is the one thing you can’t live without? 

My keys. How else would I be able to get into my home?

A favorite memory?   

I think my favorite memory is having Mother-Daughter day with my mom and we used to go to this one diner that has since been torn down. I would get my favorite: tuna fish on white bread and chocolate milk.  I would spend the day with my mom and we’d go shopping and have girl time. It was a lot of fun.

Your favorite nail polish color? 

I have no idea how to answer this. I am going to say any pinks or purple.

Favorite quote? 

Veni Vidi Vici – I came, I saw, I conquered. By Julius Caesar. I think of that when I want to focus on my goals and how far I’ve come along on my fitness journey.

Phew! That was a lot. Now here are the folks I am tagging:

Crazy Healthy Fit

A Runner’s Story

Journey of a Canuck Mom on the Run

Hungry-Runner

College Fit

Zero to Twenty-Six.Two

Back at Square Zero

Love Run Pink

Run Cupcake Run

A Healthier, Fitter Me!

Engaged and Running

And of course, here are my questions for them:

1. What is on your fitness bucket list? 

2. If you could go back in time and tell your younger self anything, what would it be and why? 

3. If you could compete in the Olympics, what would be your event? 

4. What is your favorite Olympic event to watch? 

5. We all get stressed – other than fitness, how do you refocus and relieve your stress?

6. If you could travel to anywhere in the world, where would you go? 

7. What is your fitness pet peeve? 

8. Who is your celebrity fitspiration? 

9. What piece of running or workout gear can you not live without?

10. What song pushes you go farther/workout a little harder, no matter what?

11. What is your favorite food to indulge in?

Happy tagging and happy weekend! 

2 Responses to “The Liebster Award!”

  1. Sarah M August 12, 2012 at 5:54 PM #

    Congrats on the award! Have you really never been west of the Hudson?? That’s crazy!

    • runninglongislandnyc August 15, 2012 at 2:04 PM #

      It is! It’s not that I choose not too – I just haven’t had time. I also don’t drive, which kind of hinders the travel. I am working on it!

Leave a Reply

