SweatPink <3 NYC & Sgt. Keith Ferguson 5K!

7 Aug

Happy Tuesday! Hope everyone is having a fantastic start to their week! What did you all do this weekend? I hope it was as fun, fit, and fabulous as mine!

Saturday was my first weekend off from anything in over a year, and it was a wonderful feeling. I was up early and headed into the city to meet up with a bunch of SweatPink Ambassadors for the 1st ever NYC Meet-up. Alyse and Jamie, the founders of FitApproach were in town for BlogHer ’12 along with some other Ambassadors.  They organized a SweatPink meet-up in Central Park. Jamie led a kick-ass boot-camp style workout and Melissa, a fellow Ambassador, led us in her very first yoga class! It was so wonderful to meet up with the SweatPink ladies – everyone was so friendly and kick-ass. I was actually nervous to meet everyone … everyone likes me online and on Twitter, but I wasn’t sure if they would like me in real-life. Boy, was I wrong (and glad to be wrong!).

Boot-camp, #sweatpink style!

Photo Courtesy of RunLikeaGrl

Group shot!

After boot-camp and yoga, we all headed off to Sarabeth’s for brunch. After much vacillation, I settled on the Pumpkin waffles and the chicken sausage links. I only ate one of the links but I ate about 3/4 of the waffle before having to push my plate away. It was sooo good  – I just didn’t have any room. The waffle was huge. I wish I took a picture of it beforehand; it was presented very prettily. Oh wait! Thanks to the wonders of Google, I was able to find a picture of it.

Nomnomnomnom

And then alas, our day was over, but not before we got a bunch of goody bags! YAY! Sunday was here before I knew it and it was time for the Sgt. Keith Ferguson 5K. The 5K took over the Brooklyn Bridge (basically you ran over the bridge and back and then finished the race in City Hall Park). It was pretty overcast and cool when I went to check-in, but by the time the race started (late), the sun was out in full force and it had become incredibly muggy. I ran the 5K with my friend Jasmine (it was her first ever!) and her friend Angel. Angel paced me and Jasmine, but he was way too fast for my own good. After 33 minutes (according to my Nike +), I finished the race. Jasmine finished not to far after me, and I gave her a big sweaty hug! I was so proud of her! I think she will be signing up for more races with me (or so I hope). Here’s a picture of us after the race:

Sweaty Post Race Pic!

After the race, the hubs and I went to my mom’s house to visit my family. I ended up going for a dip in the pool with my niece and sleeping a lot. Whoops? I was tired! It was a busy weekend! However, I wasn’t too tired to take pictures of some of my mom’s kitties:

Horatio napping in my purse 🙂

Heylo, Milo!

My next race is the Babylon Village 10K Dirty Sock Run. Time to log those miles – after that, I have a ton more races coming up. I’ll be logging those miles with my new SweatPink Ambassador tank! Woot, woot!

Front of tank

Back of tank!

And I will be fueling with my new purchases:

Gu & Nuun

Ignore the chipped mani… 🙂 Well, that’s my weekend for you! How was your weekend/beginning of the week thus far?

11 Responses to “SweatPink <3 NYC & Sgt. Keith Ferguson 5K!”

  1. Megan@ Run Like a Grl August 7, 2012 at 9:36 PM #

    Loved meeting you 🙂 We should meet up again at some races soon!

    • runninglongislandnyc August 8, 2012 at 2:07 PM #

      Hi Megan! It was great meeting you too! So fun! We should definitely meet up at some of the local races. I might do the football NYRR race after all… let me know if you do!

  2. Jamie Walker August 7, 2012 at 1:32 PM #

    WE LOVED meeting you Kassandra! So glad you were able to make it. Such a fun Saturday. #SweatPink sister!

    • runninglongislandnyc August 8, 2012 at 2:06 PM #

      I loved meeting you and Alyse as well (and everyone else too!)! THANK YOU for hosting a boot camp (it was tough!) and for everything else that day. I am eternally grateful for this group!

  3. Yoli August 7, 2012 at 10:28 AM #

    The NYC meet-up in the park must have been fun! I couldn’t make it. :[ Glad you got to go, though. And great job with the 5K. It’s always nice running with friends. :] SPA love!

    • runninglongislandnyc August 8, 2012 at 2:04 PM #

      Hi Yoli!!! Thanks for the SPALove, it is much appreciated! And thanks about the 5K – it was crazy tough with the humidity. I cannot wait for the Fall for the cooler weather. 🙂 Us SPAs will need to set up another get together soon!

  4. Jenna August 7, 2012 at 9:38 AM #

    Loooove that sweat pink tank! ;0) also Milo is very pretty!!! Can u tell me the color of your nail polish also!? Super cute!!!! Have a super day! SPALove!

    • runninglongislandnyc August 8, 2012 at 2:02 PM #

      Thanks for the SPALove Jenna! The polish is OPI “On Stage.” I want to say I got it at Sephora? And thanks about Milo. He is such a pretty cat (a little crazy though, hahah).

  5. Carlyn August 7, 2012 at 9:37 AM #

    woohoo I am doing the dirty sock as well BUT if the weather is rainy or too humid this sweaty gal is bailing and doing kickboxing instead haha

    • runninglongislandnyc August 8, 2012 at 2:01 PM #

      Hahaha, awwww. I don’t mind rain but the humidity is the worst. It definitely affects my runs. It suuucks. Anyway, I hope the weather plays in our favor. 🙂 Great job on your training, btw!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sweatastic Saturday! « runninglongislandnyc - September 22, 2012

    […] brunch at Sarabeth’s – you may recall that I ate there earlier this summer during the SweatPink meetup. Then, I waited on line to meet Kara Goucher! I was so excited and so nervous – she is […]

Leave a Reply

