Guest Post: Running in Philadelphia!

14 Aug

As you all know, I am a FitApproach Sweat Pink Ambassador. One of my fellow Ambassadors, Katie of Healthy Heddleston, had the great idea of having a blog swap amongst the Ambassadors. Basically, Ambassadors were paired up to write a guest post for each other. I, of course, had to take part. I was super excited to learn that I was paired up with Amanda from Run Principessa, one of my fave bloggers out there! So, without further ado, here is Amanda’s post:

——

Hey everybody! I’m Amanda from Run Principessa and I am SO excited that I got paired with Kasandra for the Sweat Pink Blog Swap. Now, I have to be honest with you. I’ve been a long time fan of reading blogs from those runners lucky enough to be close to NYC. I know. Philadelphia is not light years away, but still. I’m here to show all of you that running in Philadelphia can be fun too. I promise. So all of you New Yorkers (and everybody else!), hop a train/bus/hitch hike a ride/etc. Just come visit!

Just do me a favor and refrain from mentioning any certain sports teams while you visit. 🙂

The Spot to Run

Ask any Philadelphian to tell you where they like to run and CHANCES ARE they’re going to tell you they run along the Schuylkill (skoo-kull, for those of you who sounded that out) River. Boathouse Row is where all of the local rowing teams practice. It’s a great place to run and smile at people as they pass. Or not. You can choose what sort of Philadelphian you are. I won’t judge.

Source

But I’ll probably be the one smiling at you. How do you find it? Pick a street in the city and walk along as the numbers get higher. Unless you’re at 30th street or further. Thcen you’ll want to go the other way.

Are you more into bridges? You like rivers you can pronounce? Then go the opposite way (count down the numbered streets) and you’ll run into the Delaware River. No tricky pronunciation included! You can run across the Ben Franklin Bridge and get a bit of a hill workout in! Plus, you’ll hit up two states at once!

Source

I should note that the other state is New Jersey. Just so you’re aware. 🙂

Come Visit for a Race!

Of course there’s the Philadelphia Marathon here. Rock ‘n’ Roll is stopping by for a half. Mud races are everywhere. Both color runs stopped by this summer. But which races should you come to visit for?

I almost don’t want to tell you to come visit for this race because it’s gotten SO popular in the past couple of years. Registration closed in something like five hours this past year. But, if you want to see a bunch of crazy Philadelphians get together and race for ten miles, I suggest checking out the Broad Street Run. We’re pretty proud of it. You run straight through the city and get cheered along the entire way.

It was also my first race ever, so it has a special place in my heart. J

COME VISIT! Say hi! It’ll be fun, I promise!

Amanda blogs at Run Principessa and tweets (often) @runprincipessa. Be sure to stop by and introduce yourself!

If you want to check out the other SweatPink Blog Swaps, you can check them out here!

And if you want to read what I wrote for RunPrincipessa, check it out here!

12 Responses to “Guest Post: Running in Philadelphia!”

  1. Jenna August 15, 2012 at 3:38 PM #

    Whoo! What fun places to run!!! Going across that bridge would be so awesome!! I’m from a tiny town by pittsburgh, so I don’t really see much greatness on my runs except the gorgeous nature and deer! Haha love the blog swap! SPALove!

  2. Danielle (@itsaharleyylife) August 14, 2012 at 10:21 PM #

    Boathouse Row is beautiful! I love it there when I pass it. I’ve never ran it though!

    • runninglongislandnyc August 15, 2012 at 2:05 PM #

      It is so beautiful! I can’t imagine what it must be like to see in person!

  3. Katie Heddleston August 14, 2012 at 3:44 PM #

    Now that I’m in the DC area, I would love to do a race in Philly! What a fun post to read about — I have a few friends who live in Philly and the scenes always look great!

    • runninglongislandnyc August 15, 2012 at 2:04 PM #

      I want to run in Philly – I always think it is so far away from NYC when it really isn’t. I’ve never been to DC either. I want to go and run there too!

  4. Pavement Runner (@PavementRunner) August 14, 2012 at 2:53 PM #

    Very cool. I’ve never run in Philadelphia, but the marathon is on my list of “must do.” Great post!

    • runninglongislandnyc August 15, 2012 at 2:01 PM #

      I’ve never run in Philly either, but after reading Amanda’s post, I want to head over there STAT! 🙂

  5. misszippy1 August 14, 2012 at 2:09 PM #

    I lived in West Chester for a while and absolutely love Phila. I still miss it and running along the drives is one big reason! And I’ve run Broad St. twice and the marathon 3x. Great races!

    • runninglongislandnyc August 15, 2012 at 2:03 PM #

      Your comment makes me want to take a road trip to Philly this weekend and run there! I’m going to have to see when I can take some vacation… glad to hear a rave from someone else! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Winners and A Bridge - August 27, 2012

    […] And since this is supposed to be about running, I’ll give you a picture from my run this morning where my technology died again and I got really, really angry I ran across a bridge. […]

  2. The One Where I Talk About Philly Again - August 16, 2012

    […] Local Flavor style. So if you didn’t get enough of my rambling on about Philadelphia in my guest post on Monday, this is the place for you. Now you’ve got a soundtrack […]

  3. [Guest Post] Running in NYC - August 14, 2012

    […] guess if you want to hear what I have to say about good old Philadelphia, you can head over to her blog and check it […]

Leave a Reply

