Three Things Thursday!!

16 Aug

Hey peeps! Hope everyone’s week has been going well thus far. I apologize for the lack of posts as of late. I feel like August has really gotten away from me… it’s already half-way over! Time sure has been flying.

Anyway, today’s post is all about the 3 things that I want to bring to your attention. I know some people do WIAW – but in all honesty, what I eat is crazy boring. I pretty much have the same things for breakfast and lunch and then my dinner might be what is interesting.

  • REMIX (aka pushing my limits)

I normally run on Tuesdays and I was prepared to go for a run during my lunch hour when I realized I didn’t bring my running sneakers with me. #FAIL. The sneakers at my desk were my training sneakers which are more for my fitness classes because they are super flexible and made more for jumping around than running. I headed to the gym and decided to take a class called Remix. I’ve taken Remix before but a new instructor teaches it and I won’t lie, she kind of terrifies me. She’s really intense and reminds me of a drill sergeant.  When I would hit the gym on Wednesdays, my friends at the gym would tell me their “war stories.” Listen, I liked to be pushed when I worked out but from what they told me, I was like errr nevermind that class.  Nonetheless when I showed up on Tuesday, they were like “oh get ready… you’re going to die.”

But I didn’t. I felt like it when I was in the class, but I didn’t die. The instructor pushed me and pushed me hard. It wasn’t fun holding a bridge with my arms elevated in a chest press for about 5 minutes, but I did it. And you know what? The instructor pushes not to abuse us, but because she knows we have it in us to go farther, work a little harder. No pain, no gain, right? I think I am going to have to find a new running day, haha.

  • My upcoming 10K!

I have a race this coming Sunday – the Babylon Classic Dirty Sock Run 10K!This Sunday’s race will be the fourth running of the Babylon Village Classic which raises funds to help the Clergy Cluster Food Pantries.  It’s a trail race, which I have never done before, so I am a little nervous! After the race we get a pair of new socks, which is neat – one can’t ever have too many socks (besides, we all know the dryer eats half of them, haha)!  In 2008 the Run raised more than $10,000 (or, ironically, 10k)! (source). To register or find out more about the race, check out their website.  I’ll be doing a vlog about the race: before and after… maybe even during?! You can all watch me pass out, haha.

  • Jimmy the kitten needs YOUR HELP!

Hi Jimmy!

My friend Beth is fostering a 4 month old kitten named Jimmy Stewart with her boyfriend.  Jimmy unfortunately developed cataracts and the vet says he will likely go blind within a year. He was originally adopted out but the new owners decided to RETURN him they didn’t want him because of his disability.  I actually adopted Jimmy’s sister (her name is Marty) and I am cat-sitting his brother Goldie.

Beth is trying to raise money to pay for his surgery to remove his cataracts and restore his vision. The surgery to restore Jimmy’s sight is around $6,000.00!! From Beth’s fundraising page:

 “We know kitties can live happy lives even if they are blind, but as we will be likely be moving around over the next few years as we get our lives settled we believe he will be much happier if he can see all his new environments. Cataract surgery has over a 95% success rate in cats and we really hope we will be able to provide him with this surgery.”

 Any funds Beth and her boyfriend have leftover will then be donated to the Humane Society.

Anyway, if you can help out, it would be greatly appreciated.  Every dollar goes a long way. (And I recognize that this economy sucks, so if you can’t donate, then you can’t.)  DONATE HERE! Jimmy says “thank you!”

One Response to “Three Things Thursday!!”

  1. Jenna August 17, 2012 at 3:59 PM #

    Awh! What a cute little Jimmy kitty! I think making donations to places like that is so awesome! I hate seeing poor animals lost, homeless, mistreated etc. I’ll round up somenmoney to donate this weekend! SPALove!

Leave a Reply

