Sunday Funday!!

19 Aug

Hello, hello! Happy Sunday all. As I write this, I am currently imbibing on blueberry iced coffee that I made along with Habanero BBQ almonds. Sounds gross, but both of them are the bomb! Yes, I just said “the bomb.” Aaaand, 1999 is calling me.

Anyway, today was the Dirty Sock 10K. Initially the goal was to vlog before and after, but I completely spazzed on that. I was super nervous and had butterflies the entire way to the race. After picking up my swag (race tee, bib, new socks, and a gift baggie with variety of fliers, a fuel gel, etc.), I headed over to the start line. (NOTE: When choosing a playlist to listen to during a race, make sure the repeat button is not on, so you don’t have to listen to the same song about 40 times over and over again. I told you, I was such a spazz today!). I was so happy that it was so cool outside (65) versus unbearably hot, like during the Bklyn Bridge 5K.

Once the race started, I felt good. I saw people flying by me and I wanted to run faster, but since I tend to start fast and burnout, I aimed to start off slow and steady. And I felt awesome until I got to mile 4.5. At that point, I had to take some walk breaks and then mile 5 I hit the wall HARD. My split at mile 5, which I’ll post below, was no bueno. I increased my pace again and I tried to sprint around mile 6, and again, just crashed. I crossed the finish line, happy that a) I finished and b) my overall splits were good, but I wasn’t happy that it wasn’t a PR. I was set for a PR but mile 5 really ruined that for me. Anyway, happy to have finished. And that’s all that mattered.

While at the race, I got to meet two people that I know of via blogs/twitter. Tracy and Gina of BurningBabiFat! Tracy is training for the NYC Marathon this November and Gina’s training for her first 1/2 (Divas Half Marathon, which I am also doing).Β Both girls were so nice and sweet!

Of course, check out my pics:

Gina (BurningBabiFat) & I post race

My Ghosts got nice & dirty

Awards Ceremony

Crowds

During the awards ceremony (thanks for the photobomb lady btw, haha)

Can you tell where I hit the wall?

I was not happy about my bib number. WTF?!

Moi πŸ™‚

Hi, hubs!! ❀

Well that’s all from me, KR out! Next race: THE COLOR RUN!!!!! Ahhh!!! πŸ™‚

3 Responses to “Sunday Funday!!”

  1. Megan@ Run Like a Grl August 19, 2012 at 9:40 PM #

    Glad you finished and had a nice time anyway! I don’t know why they even give out the number 666 by the way! Can’t wait to hear about the color run πŸ™‚

  2. Siobhan August 19, 2012 at 8:44 PM #

    It was perfect racing weather today! I know how hard it is to hit a wall, but great job pushing through and finishing! πŸ™‚

  3. Beth @ Running with the Sunrise August 19, 2012 at 4:26 PM #

    It’s always tough to have a not so great race perfornace, but you’re right, at least you didn’t get a DNF, and your time wasn’t bad at all! For me, 65 is still relatively warm, and we all have our off days, too.

    I hope you’re enjoying the rest of your day! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

