Twitter Birthday!!

23 Aug

Happy Birthday to Me!

Yesterday marked my one year birthday (or anniversary) of being on Twitter. While in the real world this is very much insignificant (and I say that bearing in mind that there are starving children, wars going on, etc.), it was significant to me.  Prior to joining Twitter, I was very much anti-Twitter. It wasn’t that I just didn’t care for it, I pretty much hated it. Hate is a strong word to use but the 140 character limit, the hashtags, the RTs, just didn’t make me interested in it. I was very much (and still am), pro-Facebook. I had Facebook when it first came out and was hooked instantly.

After some convincing from my hubs, I joined Twitter and actually set out to snark on the dumbasses that I mixed with on a daily basis to/from work while commuting. (See my fellow tweeps for more info: @MTAssholes, @LIRRguy, @CrankyCommuter). But then, I began to get hooked on Healthy Living Blogs (HLBs) and their respective bloggers. I picked up running and started to blog about my experiences with training and running all sorts of races.

And while I have plenty of friends from high school, college, grad school, and at home, it was hard to get together because a) a majority of them (especially my best friend) live far away and b) between work, school, and everyday life for all of us, it is hard to coordinate a million schedules.

But while blogging and tweeting (very little) I found the FitFluential community. HOLY COW! What a great, wonderful, and amazing group! I loved interacting with them and learning all about the up and coming stuff when it came to fitness and healthy living.  After finding FitFluential, I found the FitApproach community and became a #SweatPink Ambassador.  And while I don’t know a majority of them, I have met some in person at either an Ambassador gathering, taking a fitness class with them if they live nearby, or even at a local race.  And the ones that I have met in person thus far, are just as sweet and wonderful as they are on Twitter.  And they are all so supportive of each other too! I have had so many wonderful opportunities to date! I even hosted #FitBlog this past week – I was so nervous at first… it ended up being so much fun!

So, oddly enough, I want to give thanks to Twitter. Thanks for opening up a virtual community that I had no idea existed. I have not been the same since, and if anything it’s all been for the better!

To give you an example, go check out my guest post at ViewSport’s blog where I talk about finding my moment and my fitness. BONUS, if you purchase anything today, you can get 15% OFF by entering the code: VIEWSPORT at checkout. Sa-weet!

Hope everyone is having a great Thursday… one day closer to Friday! Woo-hoo! See you at the Color Run on Saturday!

Don’t mind if I do help myself to some cake!

3 Responses to “Twitter Birthday!!”

  1. Beth @ Running with the Sunrise August 23, 2012 at 2:12 PM #

    Happy Twitter birthday! I totally agree with you on Facebook vs. Twitter. I primarily joined Twitter to follow promotions that my favorite running brands were offering and to maybe get some training tips, but I’m glad I figured out that there’s so much more to Twitter. 🙂

  2. Mindy @ Road Runner Girl August 23, 2012 at 11:37 AM #

    Happy twitter birthday!!! I used to hate it too but now I LOVE twitter!

    • runninglongislandnyc August 23, 2012 at 11:46 AM #

      Thanks! I think I love twitter even more than Facebook now! Sshh! 🙂

Leave a Reply

