Color Run!!!!

25 Aug

Hi everyone! I hope you are having a great weekend. As you know from my earlier post, today was Color Run Day!! Luckily, I didn’t have to travel from my home to Brooklyn. My mom lives in Staten Island so I stayed there overnight. After a wake-up call of 5:45, we moved quickly – my niece had to get ready, as did my mom and my hubs. After running a few minutes late (I had to grab my sunglasses – such a good move), we were on our way to Brooklyn.

My niece on the way…the before!!

Sports Complex that hosted the race

Oh we did!!

While we waited for the race to begin, we checked out all of the tents that had treats available, including snazzy water bottles courtesy of Ford and a taste of a frozen yogurt.

Crowds before the start

Before I knew it, it was time to line up for the race to start!

Let’s gooooooooo!!

And off we went!! And it wouldn’t be me to not share every bit of my life, so I decided to vlog the experience. So bear with me, but I did my best. Enjoy!

Aaaand, here is the grand finale look:

We’ve been smurfed!

The blue was really hard to get out…I still have remnants.

The race was so much fun and I highly encourage anyone who has a Color Run or Color Me Rad rolling into their town, you should sign up ASAP. I had so much fun and it was totally worth getting a little lost in Brooklyn the day prior and the price tag that came with the race. The race was a fun run and it wasn’t timed. However, I did time myself. I kept pace with my niece, which meant more walking than running. And that was A.OK.  Overall time was 53:08. After the race, we stayed for a little bit to get water and use the port-a-potties and then head back to my mom’s to clean up and spend some time with her. FYI, the blue really is hard to get out. Other than that, clean up was a breeze!

And that’s all from me! Next race up is my 14.2 training run. Um, what the eff was I thinking?! Until next time… 😉

6 Responses to “Color Run!!!!”

  1. Michelle @Push.Pump.Progress August 26, 2012 at 3:41 PM #

    this looks like so much fun!! i wish we had these in Canada, i would love to do one!

    • runninglongislandnyc August 27, 2012 at 10:14 PM #

      i hope it comes to canada! so much fun! 🙂 maybe start a petition?

  2. Nikki August 26, 2012 at 12:46 PM #

    I did this run yesterday and had a blast as well! I am gonna be doing a recap post this week! I am doing the NJ one this coming Saturday and CANT WAIT!

    • runninglongislandnyc August 27, 2012 at 10:15 PM #

      luckyyyyy!! i want to do another one too!!

  3. Boise Runner (@RunInBoise) August 25, 2012 at 11:35 PM #

    How fun! I have a color run next month and I am excited.

    • runninglongislandnyc August 27, 2012 at 10:15 PM #

      you’re going to love it. have fun!!

Leave a Reply

