Running all of Manhattan

2 Sep

Hello, hello, happy Sunday! Hope everyone is having a wonderful Labor Day weekend thus far. Today I woke up facing my longest run of my life – The 14.2 mile Manhattan Training run. Note: this was a training, there was no time. I did time myself on my GPS but… I will get back to that later.

The alarm went off at 3:30 A.M. – you read that correctly. 3:30 A.M. I had to be out the door by 4:20 A.M. so I could get to the train station in time to meet a friend (Tracy – hi!) who ran it the year prior. Tracy is running the NYC Marathon this year, so she has to get as many long runs in as possible. Anyhoo, I decided to snooze until 3:45 A.M., before clumsily walking to the bathroom to get ready. I prepped the night before so I wouldn’t be running around like a chicken without a head.

All set!

I headed into the city not knowing what to expect. After all, it is 14.2 miles. But I kept telling myself that it is just 1 more mile after 13.1, which is a half-mary. After grabbing some much needed coffee, Tracy and I took the subway to 225th street along with some other gals we met along the way, plus Tracy’s friend Tova, who is also doing the NYC marathon this year.

After getting our bibs, and setting up our many apps and GPS tracking devices, we were off! And it was not easy at all in the beginning. On 218th street (I think it was there), we had to climb a hill that was practically 75 degree incline. After battling some more rolling hills, the path  pretty much flattened out, especially at Riverside Park and along the West Side Highway. I had my water with citrus Nuun, but kept refilling at every water station. I had my Gu around mile 6 and felt great. And then wham, mile 10 hit me like a ton of bricks. I kept at it though (I did have to walk some of it, because my legs were cramping up a bit). Around mile 11, I called my husband and told him I couldn’t keep going. He, however, convinced me to keep on going. I even recalled the tweet my niece Kathy sent me:

Sorry it’s so tiny but it reads: Omg titi I’m so proud  go for it luv yaaa

I couldn’t let her down. I couldn’t let my hubs down. More importantly, I could not let myself down. I have never quit a race and didn’t plan to DNF. So as much as my legs didn’t want to go any farther, I willed them to keep running – just one step in front of another. Finally I was at mile 13… I was pumped, just one more mile. But then I got to mile 14, and the end was no where in sight. Talk about a case of the WTF?!  I kept going, hoping to see the end, but everyone who volunteered and were standing guard, told me to keep going. By the time I finished, my RunKeeper logged 16.7 miles. So, not exactly sure as to what happened. Tracy was so nice and waited for me the whole time even though at mile 10, I texted her to go on back home without me.  After getting my souvenirs (a duffle bag and a long sleeved tee – perfect for fall/winter runs) we headed back to the train to go to Penn Station. I was supposed to have also gotten a mug and a cap, but they ran out, so they took my bib number so they can mail it to me along with my finisher’s certificate.

I thought I would finish around 2:45-2:50, but I ended up finishing at 3. I would love to show you my splits and what the app said mileage wise, but my phone died before I could save it and I lost all of the info. I am so upset, argh!! Buuuut, I can show you my medal! Isn’t it pretty?

Bam! #proof

And since like my tag line reads: “…because running all of Manhattan isn’t enough,” next weekend I have 2 runs back to back – my first mud run on Saturday and then the Bronx 10 miler on Sunday (piece of cake!) Plus the Sunday race will be my 9th race with the New York Road Runners. After that and one volunteer opp, I will have solidified my place in next year’s marathon!

I have an extreme case of runger and I am off to dinner! Enjoy the rest of your time off. 🙂

P.S. – Do not buy Post Great Grains Banana Nut Crunch. It’s like crack. It is so freaking good. Nomnomnom.

6 Responses to “Running all of Manhattan”

  1. Jill Conyers (@jillconyers) September 2, 2012 at 7:21 PM #

    I would love to run Manhattan! Race or even just a long training run. Actually almost anywhere in NY would be great. Great finish and very cool bling.

    http://jillconyers.com/

    • runninglongislandnyc September 5, 2012 at 9:13 PM #

      Thank you do much! You are so sweet! If you’re ever in NYC, let me know and we can have a running date! 🙂

  2. Mindy @Road Runner Girl September 2, 2012 at 7:19 PM #

    Congrats!!! Sounds like an awesome run!!! And I LOVE your medal!!!

  3. jenna September 2, 2012 at 6:42 PM #

    you are so totally awesome!! fantastic run! my sister lives in manhattan, but she’s definitely not a runner! i wish i lived there too, because then i’d come join you guys!! spa love!

    • runninglongislandnyc September 5, 2012 at 9:15 PM #

      Omg, again, you are so sweet!! Thank you! It was hard but I still can’t believe I did it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

