Survival Certified

9 Sep

Happy Sunday folks! I hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend thus far. Yesterday, I participated in my first ever mud run! I took part in The Survival Race, which is a 5K with various obstacles in the course. I was in the first wave (9:00 A.M.), so I had an early wake up call to head out to Riverhead, which is way out east from where I live on Long Island. After checking in and getting my t-shirt (I wanted to avoid the masses later on), I waited until my wave was called up to the start line.

Let’s recap, shall we? I had no idea what to expect – I knew that mud, climbing, waist high water, and maybe even fire(?!) lied ahead.

I ran through water…

I ran through a mud pit…

I hopped through tires…

I scaled walls and ladders…

I ran on the beach and crawled on the sand…

I crawled through tubes…

I climbed up numerous steep hills…

I scaled down numerous deep hills, and…

I waded/crawled through mud! 

I thought for the last one my husband said “go through,” so I wouldn’t drown in the mud. He said “dive through.” Whoops! The race and the obstacles were a lot of fun but it was challenging. You needed arm strength for most of the events. There was a TON of climbing up extremely steep hills. And then when we had to climb down steep hills. For one down hill, I approached it and said aloud, “oh what sweet hell is this?” to which one of the volunteers remarked, “that is the best line I’ve heard so far!” (Hee!) Anyway, I used the rope to climb down but I lost my footing and slid down on my butt (which was fun) but when I got back up, I still had the momentum going and I flew downward and had to grab onto a tree (which I lost my grip on) and then hang onto the next tree. Someone was behind me and because I whipped back as I was holding onto the tree, he grabbed me.  I don’t know who he was, but I am so thankful he was there. It was definitely scary. I know I also rolled my ankle a few times while running through the woods because of the uneven terrain. But I survived!! I grabbed a banana, my award (a cool dog tag) and a beer afterwards. Meal of champions!

Now, for pictures! 

Before the race!

People gearing up!

Couldn’t wait to cross this!

Being silly

Welcome to the gun show! Hahaha.

Post race with a well earned beer!

Some cuts and scrapes post-race.

My knees took a beating and are all gnarly looking. Oh well – badges of honor. I don’t have a picture of me muddied up because I simply forgot and hit the showers (crazy cold, brr) and changed clothes. But I did take one with the photographers they had post-race, so I will have a picture soon enough! Anyway, if the  Survival Race, Warrior Dash, Spartan Race, or Dirty Girl Mud Run comes to your neck of the woods – DO IT! It was so much fun and cannot wait for my next one on the 29th, woo-hoo!

And if my recap wasn’t enough for you, go check out Gina’s (of BurningBabiFat) recap here.

And if you look at my race schedule, you would see I was supposed to the Bronx 10-miler today. When I woke up, my back was spasming so BADLY (and had been that way post race) that I opted out. Listen to your body people! I didn’t want to risk injuring myself further. So another DNS for me. But I rather DNS, than DNF and be side-lined for a chunk of time. My math: Health > Race.

That’s it from me – what did YOU do this weekend?

3 Responses to “Survival Certified”

  1. fitness program for Women October 5, 2012 at 5:29 PM #

    Fine way of telling, and fastidious article to get data regarding my presentation focus, which i am going to present in academy.

  2. Glenneth September 9, 2012 at 12:24 PM #

    that looks like a lot of fun! congrats! have a happy sunday! spa love!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Let’s Get Dirty! « runninglongislandnyc - October 1, 2012

    […] recommend doing this race if you have the chance to. It was amazing and so much more fun than The Survival Race. The obstacles were better spaced apart and it was mostly flat. It was also better organized (from […]

Leave a Reply

