Race Day Superstitions!

12 Sep

I don’t believe that black cats are bad luck.

I promise not too!!

Happy hump day folks… we’re getting closer to the weekend, hallelujah! I need the weekend to come STAT. I am just so exhausted.  Anyway, with the weekend, for many, come races.  With the New York City Marathon just around the corner, I can’t even imagine the stress and anxiety those who are training for it are feeling.  Whenever I begin a race, I am so anxious and nervous – even if it’s distance I have run many times previously.  And it’s not like I will be trying anything new (I follow the cardinal rule of never trying anything new the day of to a tee.).

However, there are things I like to do before the race that I guess I would hope that would make the difference? For example, I have a pair of running capris that are my go-to, “lucky” capris.  They never let me down and I’ve set PRs in them.  I’ll wear them until the seam gives.  And even then, I’ll try to repair them. Also, the other item that I have to have before walking out the door is my Road ID band. I feel that the first time that I leave it at home I will get hurt or in an accident.

I scoured the internet and found some people’s traditions/superstitions – some quirky, some not:

  • One person must eat an avocado the night before and has traveled with avocados to make sure that happens.
  • One person cannot wear the race shirt unless they have actually completed the race, and their name appears (or will appear) in the race results.
  • One person must have spaghetti the morning of the race.
  • Another person can’t knowingly end a week with mileage that ends with a 9. If they have 39 miles by the end of Saturday, they will get out and run at least a mile on Sunday even if it is a scheduled rest day.
  • That same person above does their long runs and races in the same shorts, tek shirt and socks every time.
  • One woman has to have to have all of her running gear laid out the night before in a certain way.  She also stated that when she lays out the clothes, she makes it look like a person: shirt on top, shorts underneath, shoes at the bottom. Visor at the tippy top and Garmin and Gu at the side.
  • One man will wear his “ugly shoes”: “I have two pairs of Asics. One is red and black and looks pretty badass. For races, I wear my silver and green ones. They don’t look as cool but I consider them my ‘function-over-fashion-get-down-to-business’ footwear even though they are the same as the red ones.”
  • The same man above: “It has taken me a long time to find a good pair of running shoes but once I find a style that I like (Mizuno Nirvana) I am extremely loyal. I have 3 back-up pair already purchased ready to go.” <– I also can identify with this – I have a few pairs of the Nike +3 in my closet.

So tell me, do you have any pre-race or day-of race superstitions/traditions? Or do you not believe in that kind of stuff?  I want to hear all about them!

7 Responses to “Race Day Superstitions!”

  1. gwynncompton September 13, 2012 at 11:21 AM #

    As I’m not superstitious in the slightest (well I once argued that I landed a job because the neighbour’s black cat who I hadn’t seen in a couple of weeks suddenly reappeared in his usual sunbathing spot on the day I went for the interview, but I know that’s bollocks). However I do have a routine I follow to the letter on a raceday morning.

    Breakfast is taken 3 & 1/2 hours before the race, even if it means getting up at 5am to do so. It’s my usual breakfast, I just have to have it a certain time before the race so that I A) Have fuel and B) Don’t get the stitch come race time. I also down an extra glass of water to ensure I’m well hydrated. If it is a 5am breakfast, I can go back to sleep afterwards.

    I also only allow myself my last glass of water no closer than an hour before the start of the race, ideally an hour and a half if I can manage it, again it’s all about hydration and making sure I’m not on the starting line needing to go to the bathroom!

    None of it is scientifically based, it just works for me.

    • runninglongislandnyc September 17, 2012 at 5:17 PM #

      That’s great that it works for you – I do have to keep in mind re: water right before the race. It’s double edged sword, really. It’s funny how we get into these little routines before a race or anything in life – shows how quirky everyone is!

  2. Danielle (@itsaharleyylife) September 12, 2012 at 7:46 PM #

    hahaha some of those are so funny! I enjoyed reading them! I don’t really have any supersititions. I just pick out what I’m going to wear the day before and thats about it!

  3. noshingonasphalt September 12, 2012 at 6:44 PM #

    Loved reading those superstitions! I don’t have any; I figure I’m only going to do as well (or as bad) as I trained for. However, I do travel with milk and cereal for race morning so I won’t have any GI issues.

  4. Siobhan September 12, 2012 at 12:50 PM #

    I won’t wear a race shirt until after I’ve completed the race either. I think that’s my biggest superstition. I rarely try anything new the day of a race either, but I have broken that one on occasion.

  5. Kat @ sneakers & fingerpaints September 12, 2012 at 11:33 AM #

    Just a motto; NO NEW IS GOOD NEW ON RACE DAY – I never change what I eat before, during the race and am sure to keep the same attire with nothing new, learned the hard way 😉

  6. Jenna September 12, 2012 at 11:02 AM #

    Those are such funny superstitions! I haven’t heard of 90% of them!! Happy weds! And spalove!

Leave a Reply

