Breast Cancer Awareness (We are Beautiful)

4 Oct

October is known for many things: falling leaves, crisp air, apples, oversized sweaters, all things pumpkin flavored (especially pumpkin spiced lattes!!), and Halloween.  It’s also known as Breast Cancer Awareness Month.  As a woman in my late 20s, this is a cause that is important to me.  Not because I have been affected by it – but because I can be affected by it and because I know many people who have been affected by it.  And since this blog is about healthy living, I want to raise awareness about breast cancer as anyone can get breast cancer.

Here are some facts I want to share with you. For example, did you know…

  •  The older a woman, the more likely she is to get breast cancer?
  • Young women can get breast cancer, even in their 20s?
  • White women are more likely to get breast cancer than women of any other racial or ethnic group?
  • African American women are more likely to die from breast cancer than white women?
  • Men can get breast cancer? Out of every one hundred cases of breast cancer, one will occur in a man.
  • All women are at risk for breast cancer. Known risk factors like having a family history of breast cancer, starting menopause after age 55 or never having children account for only a small number of new breast cancer cases every year. Women who have never even had a history of breast cancer in their family are still at risk.
  • Having an inherited mutation in the BRCA1 or BRCA2 breast cancer gene or a family history of breast, ovarian or prostate cancer increases your risk?
  • Having high breast density on a mammogram increases your risk?
  • Starting menopause after age 55; never having children; or having your first child after age 35 increases your risk?
  • Being overweight after menopause or gaining weight as an adult also increases your risk.

(source) (source)

The month before I was getting married, I went for my regular check with my gynecologist and while my doctor was doing the breast examination, he felt something. He placed my hand to where he felt a lump and asked if I had noticed that during my self breast exam.  I honestly had no idea what I was feeling because a) I am not a doctor, b) was freaking out.  My doctor told me not to worry, most of the times it’s nothing. But how could I not worry?! Plus I was getting married really soon.  Though I trusted his judgment about not worrying, I went to have a mammogram. And sure enough, it was nothing. The technician said it was likely it a cyst that burst. But still, that was so freaky and I am so grateful that it was nothing. But not everyone is that lucky. So do your self examination ladies, eat healthy, and move, move, move!

On a different topic, Under Armour has created the “What’s Beautiful” campaign.

Under Armour is redefining the female athlete by pushing beyond the brink every single day. It’s simple: set your own personal goal. Then document your journey by posting videos and photos that tell your story from start to victory.   Under Armour will then choose 10 of the most inspiring/amazing stories and sending the winners to Florida to participate in the first Under Armour Women’s Camp Sweat.

You can join here and even follow/vote on my own journey here. Don’t forget to download the app as well so you can keep up to date! What are your goals? I want to hear them!

Have a happy Thursday!

3 Responses to “Breast Cancer Awareness (We are Beautiful)”

  1. Jenna October 4, 2012 at 5:27 PM #

    I think that

  2. KatSF October 4, 2012 at 5:10 PM #

    great facts! crazy that we know so much more now about the big B C

    • Jenna October 4, 2012 at 5:28 PM #

      Is such a great campaign!!! I love it!

Leave a Reply

