Double Down Weekend!!

8 Oct

Happy Monday! Some of you are lucky and have today off as it’s Columbus Day. I do not and am currently at work. I am exhausted. And I am exhausted as I ran not one, but two races this weekend! I have never done this before so I wasn’t sure what to expect – would I be able to do it? Would I be too exhausted come Sunday? Also, the weather was to be dicey – it was supposed to be cold and rainy both days, but only one day was like that. So, let’s recap, shall we?

Entenmann’s Great South Bay 5K/10K/Half

Originally, I wanted to do the 5K but I signed up for the 10K because a) I am nuts to do a 10K before a half mary and b) I wanted the medal. Anyway, the weather turned out to be gorgeous and warm and I had so much fun doing the race. This race (and the half mary) were races in my neck of the woods, so I was very familiar with the surroundings, which made the run so much fun. It’s like running through memories as you hit the pavement. Interestingly, the walk to/from the lot at the race is each a mile so I ended up doing 8.2 miles as opposed to 6.2 in the end. Since the race was sponsored by Entenmann’s, there were lots of pastries for re-fueling. But not all of it was bad for you – there were some cereal/chewy bars available. I grabbed an old fashioned donut for my hubs (his fave).

All done!

Pretty!

Oh, and as I walked back to the car with my hubby, we saw swans! And let me tell you, until you’re thisclose to a swan, you have no idea how big they really are!

Swan!

Staten Island Half Marathon

Hubs and I woke up bright and early to make the trek from Long Island (my new home) to Staten Island (my old home). I had registered to run the Diva half on Long Island, but I really wanted to run the Staten Island one. Plus I had the benefit of seeing my family after (win!). After picking up my family, we headed off to the ferry terminal where the start of the run was held. The sky remained overcast and it was my hope that the weather man was right – that the rain would stave off until mid-afternoon.

It didn’t.

Well, it kind of did. At mile 10 it began to rain and though I was layered, the wind plus the rain, made for a chilly final 3 miles. Since I was so familiar with the area, as I got closer to the finish, I began counting down the buildings to the finish line. As I approached the finish line, my niece jumped in and began running with me. We grabbed each other’s hands and raised our hands in victory as we crossed. And she even got a medal too, haha.

At mile 13

Bam! Hard work pays off!

This is probably TMI, but I had to hit one of the port-a-potties in the beginning because I felt some GI distress and between the wait to use it and actually using it, my time is up by 15 mins. I had my RunKeeper app, which is more accurate to my finish time of 2:15. That’s a PR of like 15 mins from last time! Idk what it was, but that whole race I felt so amazing and so strong. I forgot also how much I love running in the cold. So much better than in the heat! It’s nice not felling like you are going to die after a mile. Anyhoo, I can’t wait for my next race – RockNRoll in Brooklyn!

After the race, I went to Trader Joes and bought PUMPKIN BUTTER. Cannot wait to try this on my PUMPKIN BAGELS. I am kinda, sorta obsessed with anything pumpkin flavored. I love this season!

Lots of races happened this weekend, including the Chi-town marathon. Did you race this weekend? If not, what did you do to get your fit on? Share away!

8 Responses to “Double Down Weekend!!”

  1. Danielle (@itsaharleyylife) October 9, 2012 at 2:20 PM #

    wow two races in one weekend! Great job! you are awesome!
    itsaharleyyylife.com

    • runninglongislandnyc October 10, 2012 at 10:27 AM #

      thanks so much!

  2. Jenna October 9, 2012 at 10:35 AM #

    Two in one?! Way to go!! U rock! Spa love!

    • runninglongislandnyc October 10, 2012 at 10:27 AM #

      you are so sweet, thanks girlie!!

  3. Michelle @Push.Pump.Progress October 8, 2012 at 3:22 PM #

    congrats on a successful weekend of running! great race bling! i am all about that! lol

    • runninglongislandnyc October 10, 2012 at 10:28 AM #

      the bling makes it worth it, hahaha. especially after paying those insane fees!

  4. asp00n October 8, 2012 at 1:26 PM #

    Congrats, you’re a beast!

    • runninglongislandnyc October 10, 2012 at 10:27 AM #

      i am like super flattered to be called a beast, hahaha. when would i have ever said that before? lol. thanks!

Leave a Reply

