Throwback Thursday!

11 Oct

It’s Throwback Thursday and today I am throwing it back… to last Saturday! I got an e-mail with the pictures from the Entenmann’s 10K and all I can think is “woof.” The saying is true, “if you still look good after your workout, you didn’t work hard enough.” So you’ve been warned about these pictures…

The start!

First mile or so…

Crossing the finish, yay!

No words for this!

I will say though, the various looks I have on my face is hilarious, especially after the finish.  I don’t know why but I tend to look down when running – do I unconsciously think I am going to fall? I have no idea.  And of course, if this wasn’t enough for you to handle, head on over to Seriously Ugly Race Pics for more ugly fun.

I am debating if I want to run the Flying Pig Marathon or the Long Island Marathon.  Those races are on the same weekend.  The only weighing option is the travel – clearly Long Island is going to be way cheaper since I only live 20 minutes away from the park where it starts.  Or, I can finally go west of the Hudson (something I have never done) and go to Ohio.

I don’t know… thoughts? Anyone? (I hear the crickets chirping away…)

On another note, ever wake up and not want to go to the gym, go for a run, etc.? Well, Runner’s World came up with 101 reasons to get up and run.  Here’s the link for the whole list.  Below are some of my favorites:

11. FILL THE TUB with hot water, then head out for a three-miler on a frigid morning. The sooner you get back, the hotter your bath is.

 12. EVERY MILE YOU RUN burns roughly 100 calories. Think of that next six-miler as two slices of pizza.

 22. WATCH THIS Chariots of Fire In this stirring 1981 Oscar winner for Best Picture, two British athletes prepare for and compete in the 1924 summer Olympics. For bonus motivation, download the famous Vangelis theme to your MP3 player for tomorrow’s run.

(Everytime I hear the theme, I slow-mo run no matter where I am, hahah, I am such a dork).

40. IT’S NOT TOO LATE to salvage your New Year’s resolutions.

 44. IF YOU’RE REALLY IN THE MOOD to change things up, or if you just have nothing to wear, check out the list of clothing-optional races at cybernude.com/nuderuns.

And of course, my favorite:

66. IF YOU DON’T RUN ROAD RACES, where will you get all your T-shirts? #truth 🙂

That said, I will leave you with some motivational quotes to keep you going:

  • “A lot of people run a race to see who’s fastest. I run to see who has the most guts.” -Steve Prefontaine
  • “If you want to become the best runner you can be, start now. Don’t spend the rest of your life wondering if you can do it.” -Priscilla Welch, who won the 1987 New York City Marathon at age 42
  • “The will to win means nothing without the will to prepare.” -Juma Ikangaa, Tanzanian marathoner
Leave a Reply

