Grete’s Great Gallop!!

14 Oct

And gallop, I did! Happy Sunday night everyone. I don’t know about you but I am currently curled up on my sofa watching the Giants play San Francisco. Though my husband and I (more him, than me) are Jets fans, we root for the Giants because they are a New York team. The last thing I want to do is move as I ran the New York Road Runners’ Grete’s Great Gallop, which is a half-marathon in honor of Grete Waitz,  won nine New York City Marathons between 1978 and 1988, more than any other runner in history. Grete died in April 2011 at the age of 57, after battling cancer.  In addition to the run, the park hosts a Norwegian festival which coincides with the race (including a 1.7K race and children’s races).

The great Grete

The course consisted of two loops through Central Park. I’ve run Central Park many times and its hills kill me. But hills make for good speed work, so as much as I hate them, I know they make for better runners.  The race itself started late-ish in the morning – at 10:30. This was my fourth half and my first back to back weekend of halfs, and I wasn’t sure how my body would hold up. I missed the Rock ‘N’ Roll 10K, and I won’t lie, I am glad I did. This was a rough course unlike the race last weekend, which was 99% flat. I finished the race in 02:15 but I hit the wall HARD at mile 11. I got an awful not in my left ham and my left foot began to hurt and when I walked, I had a slight limp (top of foot by the middle toe – probably an inflamed tendon).

splits for miles 1 to 5

splits 6 to 10

splits 10 to the end

But anyway, I finished and believe me, I was never happier. After the race, I grabbed a plum (being handed out), which I quickly demolished and a bagel with lox and cream cheese.  I never had one before. I was hesitant… I took a bite and…

nom nom nom

I was in heaven! How come I never tried this sooner? #fail. I took a cab to the train station afterwards. I just ran 13.1 miles, I think my feet deserved a treat. 🙂 And with today, my last half marathon is in the books for 2012. I can’t believe I have run 4 half-marys this year! I didn’t think I was even capable of one. And now I am getting ready for a full next year? I haven’t decided if I am going to do the LI marathon in May 2013, but believe me, I’ll be at the starting line in November 2013 in the New York City marathon! 🙂

6 Responses to “Grete’s Great Gallop!!”

  1. Linus Ly October 15, 2012 at 12:24 PM #

    “Half-marys”, eh? Love the lingo. Prior to May 2009, I didn’t even know that there were half-marathons. Silly me, I thought there were only full-marathons then 5K etc.

    • runninglongislandnyc October 16, 2012 at 11:23 AM #

      that’s okay! i didn’t even know 10ks or 15ks existed when i first started running this past year! 🙂

  2. miletwentyeight October 14, 2012 at 8:52 PM #

    congrats on finishing another half!

    • runninglongislandnyc October 16, 2012 at 11:22 AM #

      thanks so much!!!

  3. Danielle (@itsaharleyylife) October 14, 2012 at 8:28 PM #

    great splits! that bagel looks so good! I would definitely want one of those when I was done running! (:

    • runninglongislandnyc October 16, 2012 at 11:22 AM #

      thanks! i was pretty proud of my splits too. i was so happy though when it was over. i didn’t think i was hungry enough for the bagel and lox and then i inhaled it, hahaha.

Leave a Reply

