I’m Running for the Warriors, Are You?

16 Oct

 

(source)

This Saturday, I will be participating in the 5th annual Run for the Warriors on Long Island (hosted by Team Hope for the Warriors). This will be my second year running it. Last year I ran the 5K and I remember waiting with my husband with the rest of the 5K-ers and thinking that the 10K-ers were like ZOMG hard-core, I can never do that, so jealous! This year I signed up for the 10K, ha!

run, run, run!!

 (source)

The Run for the Warriors race actually holds a near and dear place in my heart.  First off, superficially speaking, this is kind of when I got bitten by the running bug. Secondly, and more importantly, is that the race benefits the men and women wounded in Iraq and Afghanistan, their families, and families of the fallen.  While I am no military brat, many of my family members have been in the military. As a matter of fact, I recall waiting for my cousin at the airport at the end of The Gulf War. My mom gave me money to buy a present for him and I bought him a stuffed bunny rabbit and when my mom told me to give it to him, I was so sad to give up the bunny (whoops). Little did I know really what he had done or what war even was.

Team Hope for the Warriors has many programs to help men and women enlisted and for the families of the fallen.  These include:

  • Above & Beyond (which provides guidance to wounded service members pursuing reintegration into the civilian sector)
  • Community Outreach
  • Critical Care Coordination
  • Family Reintegration
  • Family Support
  • Hope & Morale
  • Outdoor Adventures
  • Spouse / Caregiver Scholarships
  • A Warrior’s Wish
  • Wounded Warrior Unit Support

Flash forward to a few weeks ago when I went to Starbucks to buy a cup of coffee, there was someone in the army standing behind me and when I paid, I told the barista to charge me for whatever mister army wanted and the barista seemed so confused by my gesture. I wasn’t doing it so I could be applauded. I was doing it because in the end, I am so grateful for what these men and women do for this country, for our freedom.  I cannot imagine what these families go through.

Team Hope for the Warriors hosts many running events all across the nation and your registration fee goes to helping these heroes.  And if you can’t run, you can always donate – every penny counts! 🙂

One Response to “I’m Running for the Warriors, Are You?”

  1. Michelle @Push.Pump.Progress October 16, 2012 at 9:05 PM #

    what a great reason to run! one of the reasons i really wanted to do Tough Mudder this summer (other than the personal challenge) was because it raised money for the wounded warriors project!

Leave a Reply

