Pumpkins, pumpkins, everywhere!

22 Oct

Happy Monday all!!! I hope your weekend was as fun as mine! Before I get into anything, I first want to wish my brother Louis…

a VERY HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

I hope you have a great day and I cannot wait to see you!

I spent my Saturday running the Hope for the Warriors Run for the Warriors 10K. Not only did I set a new PR at the 5k mark in 27 minutes, I also set a PR overall, at 1:02:56. Yay, me!!!

my bib!! all nice & pinned! 🙂

my patriotic headband!

The course was mostly flat as it took place on Sunrise highway (on Long Island) and part of the surrounding neighborhoods. The “hilliest” point was an exit ramp in the beginning of the race. The 10K ran the 5K loop twice. I like loops personally; I don’t find them boring. Instead, they help me figure out what to expect the second time around so I am prepared. I ran this race last year, but only the 5K, and the course was pretty much identical. The only thing that I didn’t enjoy was that I dressed too warmly (it was cooler earlier, but it definitely warmed up) and so by the end, I was super hot and feeling rather sticky. See below.

I was sprinting at this point, watching the clock on my way to PR’ing

Overall, I had a great time and it was for such a good cause. As long as they keep hosting it, I will keep running it. Nothing like thinking of fallen soldiers to make you keep going and not give up, right? The other part of my weekend involved hitting up Pumpkinfest at my favorite watering hole in my husband’s old neighborhood.  Pumpkinfest included 10 Pumpkin beers on tap plus the opportunity to drink beer of out of a pumpkin! How cool is that?

Hollowed out pumpkins, ready for beer

Yummy

And time fore a refill

Aaaand another refill 😉

There were also shots of Pinnacle Pumpkin Pie vodka and the shot came rimmed with cinnamon sugar (yum). I wish I had taken a picture, but I forgot. Whoops! By the end of the night, I was a little, oh-so slightly inebriated. And the next morning my stomach exacted it’s revenge on me.  No bueno.

Too much of a good thing is not always a good thing

Two super cool events are coming up this coming weekend and next week. First, I will be running the Marianne Volpe 5K and Pumpkin Fun Run.  The following week, I will be partaking in the Lululemon Halloween group run where one of my favorite bloggers, Jess will be leading the event. Per Jess’ tweet to me, it’s about 5 miles with a warm up and cool down and afterwards, there will be treats! Woo hoo, I am really excited. I juuuust ordered my costume too. I can’t say what it is yet, but it has to do with my favorite sport (aside from running) and one of my favorite movies!

This was a busy running weekend for a lot of people – if you ran, what did you partake in? If not, how did you get your fit on? And if you didn’t do either, what did you do this weekend? Any special plans for Halloween? Is it just  me or is this year flying by? November (!!!) is so soon! What the what?! I can’t believe it. My mind is blown. Kinda like this guy:

This commercial for the Samsung Galaxy S3 is hilarious

7 Responses to “Pumpkins, pumpkins, everywhere!”

  1. Luis Gonzalez October 22, 2012 at 11:57 AM #

    Thanks for the bday shout out, love ya sis!

  2. From Fit to Figure October 22, 2012 at 11:47 AM #

    I really really wanna drink out of a pumpkin now. Congrats on the PR!

    • urbaninsuburbia October 25, 2012 at 10:53 AM #

      thanks!!! and do it!! carve up a baby pumpkin and fill it up! i think i am going to diy my own from now on. its so fun.

  3. Danielle (@itsaharleyylife) October 22, 2012 at 10:42 AM #

    great job on your run! and a PR that is awesome! I never drank out of a pumpkin! That looks like so much fun!

  4. Jenna October 22, 2012 at 10:09 AM #

    Congrats on your pr!! I love pumpkin too!! Pumpkin cheesecake is my favorite! Have a great day!!! Spa love!

  5. Ali October 22, 2012 at 8:39 AM #

    I completely agree, this year is FLYING by! I’m already starting to plan 2013 races…wow!! This weekend was slow for me, but next week/weekend I have a few Halloween themes race I can’t wait to run!

  6. FitChickinTheCity (@FitChickNYC) October 22, 2012 at 8:33 AM #

    So excited you’re coming! Thanks for the shout out!

Leave a Reply

