Daylight Scaring Time!!

24 Oct

Daylight savings time is quickly ending – November 4th, to be exact. It’ll be time to fall backwards (keep this in mind NYC marathoners!!) and gain an extra hour of sleep. As much as I love sleep, I rather have the extra hour of daylight. It’ll be dark out when I go to work and come home from work. 😦

And with it getting darker, it will be getting colder. I really want to ramp up my running mileage and between me growing broke shopping like a madwoman at Lululemon and my husband buying me tons of new running gear for my birthday/our anniversary, I want to be able to put my gear to use. There is no “end” running season here. After the NYC marathon , the New York Road Runners continue to put on awesome races afterwards.

Truth is, I’ve never run in the dark before. I am not “new” to my area, but I’ve only lived in my neighborhood for a little over a year, so I am not exactly comfortable running solo. There are also no “real” sidewalks (thanks, Long Island – note the sarcasm) and I won’t lie, I am terrified of getting hit by a car. It happens all to frequently, as evident in the tragic case of Elizabeth Dinunzio. So, with that said, I am looking into reflective running gear that would help me feel better about running in the dark – safety first and always! A quick google search for “night running gear” brought me to a ton of websites that sold well, night running gear. Here are a few of my faves (you can stay chic and be safe – but keep in mind, safety is always #1 – I rather look like a glo stick and be alive, than cute and well, dead):

(Synergy Hat)

 

(Safety Light)

 

(Run Bright at Night Crops)

 

(Brooks Pulse Lite Gloves)

 

(Asics Reflective Vest)

  (Reflective compression sleeves)

For more tips on running in the dark, check out Krissy’s posts here and here as well as this other post, filled with tips and you’ll be running safely at night in no time. Also, finally, one of my favorite bloggers, Meghann (a Brooks Ambassador) blogged about trying out some of the Brooks’ nighttime running gear, which you can read all about here.

Any tips on nighttime running for a newb like me? Let me know!1

4 Responses to “Daylight Scaring Time!!”

  1. asp00n October 24, 2012 at 5:06 PM #

    I recommend a running buddy! I don’t like running in the dark alone because you never know who’s lurking in that shady corner!

    • urbaninsuburbia October 25, 2012 at 10:54 AM #

      i know! especially as a new yorker, i am so paranoid!!

  2. Runninglovingliving (@tonee78) October 24, 2012 at 4:13 PM #

    I am a big fat chicken lately. I joined Planet Fitness so I wouldnt have to run in the dark. I run with a group 2 nights a week and we always where reflective gear, but as for the mornings unless I can find someone to run with I wont do it alone. Knuckle lights are pretty awesome for running in the dark too!

    • urbaninsuburbia October 25, 2012 at 10:54 AM #

      i did not even know knuckle lights existed. i am now googling, thanks!! and i am jealous of your run group!

Leave a Reply

