H is for Hurricane, S is for Sandy

28 Oct

Happy Sunday. I am writing this post from the comfort of my living room as my husband and I watch the Jets lose to Miami (sigh, what else is new?).  I have been home all day and have not done much. I was supposed to have run a race this morning, but I didn’t. I’ll get back to that later. Hurricane Sandy is set to make landfall in the New York Tri-State area tomorrow night. The city is shutting down mass transit tonight beginning at 7:00 P.M. and public schools are closed. So, that means a 3-day weekend for me! I have a midterm on Tuesday and am hoping school is closed through Tuesday, so it can be postponed.

Yesterday I ran the Marianne Volpe Memorial Pumpkin Run and I don’t know what happened but the whole time I felt awful and really winded. I actually had to stop and walk some of it around the 2 mile mark. I had such horrible cramps and felt nauseated. Gross. I actually seriously considered DNF’ing. But I told myself to keep focus and to keep one foot in front of the other. I finished in 32 minutes… seven minutes later than planned, but I finished it!

Doesn’t look it, but I felt like poop here.

So when it came down to today’s race, I chose not to go since I wasn’t feeling well – plenty of other races to be run! Now, I am just making cookies with the hubs and trying to study/napping. Next week I have 2 runs and I will be working the NYRR Expo, handing out bibs. I am excited! To all those on the East Coast , be safe and keep dry!

One Response to “H is for Hurricane, S is for Sandy”

  1. Mindy @ Road Runner Girl October 29, 2012 at 10:23 AM #

    Stay safe in the storm! Hate you felt so bad at your race. Good thinking to sit the next one out.

Leave a Reply

