Sandy’s Still Around

1 Nov

Movember November 1st. I can’t believe it is November already. I will say it again and again, 2012 has certainly flown by and it certainly will be one for the record books. Hurricane Sandy may have dissipated but her effects are still being felt in New York and the neighboring states.

Breezy Point, Queens, NY

(source)

I have been incredibly fortunate as has my family. My family in Brooklyn and Staten Island have power and are safe and sound. My in-laws are without power, but they are safe and sound. However, other people are not. People are going through trash for food and others are stealing gas from others. People are impersonating FEMA and Red Cross officials and are going into people’s homes and looting. It’s horrible and thinking about it makes my heart hurt.

“The storm was blamed for more than 80 deaths in the United States, including the 38 in New York City that was announced on Thursday, updating Wednesday’s toll of 24 dead. In the region, there were at least 8 in New Jersey and 4 in Connecticut, and numbers are expected to climb as rescue crews discover the full scale of the damage to buildings and infrastructure.”

(source)

Right now the Red Cross is accepting donations to help those impacted by Sandy. You can donate here. Additionally, those wishing to donate to the relief effort can text the phrase “REDCROSS” to 90999 to make a $10 contribution for every message sent.  Other text for donations include:

  • STORM to 80888 to give to the Salvation Army
  • HUMANE to 80888 for the American Humane Association
  • UWHC to 52000 to the United Way of Hudson County, N.J

The New York City Marathon is still set for Sunday. While I am disappointed with the choice to continue the run, I still plan on working the expo.  There is limited train service from Long Island and I expect more lines to be up by then, so I should be able to make it. I will watch the Marathon come Sunday (and hopefully my race set for Sunday on LI is still on). Until then, I am home watching the news, praying for everyone impacted, and hoping life will soon return to some sort of normalcy.

Leave a Reply

