Shake, shake, shake, shakeology, shakeology

5 Nov

Happy Monday peeps! The city is trying to regain some sense of normalcy. Trains are running, businesses are opening their doors, and for me, my gym was back in action (with a limited schedule). It felt so great to be back at the gym and boy was it tough. That’s what happens when you become a major slacker like me and not do anything physical for the past week (and scarf down cookies), with the exception of yesterday. The gym was not as tightly packed as usual, and that was expected. I did find out that one of my gym friends’ home is in The Rockaways which was devastated by Hurricane Sandy. She has 5 feet of water in her home. That is a little under my mom’s height of 5’2’’ and I sort of tower over my mom at 5’5’’.  No one expected this storm. It is so upsetting. 😦

That said, please continue to donate and volunteer if you are able to do so. New York and New Jersey needs you more than ever, especially since a Nor’easter is on its way bringing rain and colder weather (and possibly flooding and power outages again). Seriously, mother nature, enough.

I also couldn’t help but think of all the displaced animals as a result of Hurricane Sandy. Our furry friends lost their homes and families too. Shelters are already jam-packed. So donate to the ASPCA if you can.  All you have to do is text PREVENT to 25383 to donate $10 to help ASPCA care for pets displaced by Sandy! You can also donate to the Humane Society.

In other news, today I began a 10-day Shakeology challenge through Team Beachbody. What is Shakeology you ask? Shakeology describes itself as the “healthiest meal of the day.”

yum!

Simply put for 10 days, I will replace one meal a day with one of their shakes (I am doing Chocolate Vegan) and follow their meal plan and as a result I am supposed to have the following results: increase my energy, reduce cravings, lose weight, improve digestion and regularity, and transform my health.  I planned my lunches and dinners for the week and am replacing my breakfast with the shake.

I normally wouldn’t participate in something like this, but I completely fell off the wagon with the lose half-a-marathon challenge, but I need to do something. I haven’t been eating as clean as I’d like and I’ve felt really sluggish and gross as a result. And while I know many are anti-scale, I happen to own one and when I got on the scale over the weekend, I was less than pleased (I know I am more than a number on the scale; my health is my #1 concern and I was pushing it number wise as to where I should be). 

So, today’s shake included Vegan Chocolate shakeology, 1 cup of unsweetened almond-coconut milk, 1 super ripe banana, and 1 cup of water blended with ice. It was really good and kept me fueled until about lunch (not including having my mid-day snack of a banana pre-workout). I plan on continuing my workouts and races as normally scheduled. Let’s see how this works out – it is only 10 days after all.

How are you jumpstarting your week?

P.S. – I think I have super cool news, but I am just waiting on the official word. Stay tuned! Have a great start to your week! 🙂

9 Responses to “Shake, shake, shake, shakeology, shakeology”

  1. Mindy @Road Runner Girl November 7, 2012 at 5:23 PM #

    Shakeology is sooo yummy!!!

    • urbaninsuburbia November 8, 2012 at 9:39 AM #

      i had no idea. i think i am now obsessed. lol.

  2. Danielle (@itsaharleyylife) November 5, 2012 at 9:22 PM #

    i’m not a big fan of smoothies in exchange for food but i do love the chocolate shakeology! it is delicious!

    • urbaninsuburbia November 6, 2012 at 11:29 PM #

      i do add fruit and other stuff to mine, so there is some actual food happening. it’s not all just “empty” liq. calories. but yes, sooo yummy!

  3. jenna November 5, 2012 at 7:24 PM #

    ive had shakeology before, and i really liked it! i think it tastes good, and of course the nutritional info is great for it! i hope that it gives you the results you’re looking for!!! ❤ spa love

    • urbaninsuburbia November 8, 2012 at 9:39 AM #

      thanks so much jenna! i am glad to hear your positive feedback on shakeology! it just reaffirms my healthy decision! 🙂

  4. From Fit to Figure November 5, 2012 at 4:47 PM #

    How is Shakeology different than other “weight loss shakes” out there like Body by Vi and SlimFast? Just curious…I’m interested to see your results after 10 days. I see alot of women (not so many men) doing shakes and things in an effort to lose weight and I’m wondering whats with the resurgence of these things…Or maybe I’m just on social media and blogs alot and I’m just noticing it more.

    • urbaninsuburbia November 5, 2012 at 5:04 PM #

      Great question. Slim Fast is more calorie-laden, overly processed, and uses artificial sweeteners. Shakeology, on the other hand, contains only natural ingredients. A lot of social media bloggers/HLBs/however you want to call them, use it. I have a friends who tried it and are happy with the results (as an additional supplement versus a meal replacement) so I figured why not try it? I won’t post my weight, but my measurements are 36-28-38. I am interested to see what the results are after. FYI, I never heard of Body by Vi, until you mentioned it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #RacingforRelief & Sunday Happenings! « Urban In Suburbia - November 11, 2012

    […] Shakeology update! Tried a new recipe today; it was good (almond milk, cinnamon, nutmeg, ice, and chocolate shakeology). I still think I found my stride with almond milk, peanut butter, and chocolate shakeology. #nomnomnom […]

Leave a Reply

