#RacingforRelief & Sunday Happenings!

11 Nov

Happy Sunday! And Happy Veteran’s Day. A BIG THANK YOU to all past, present, & future veterans … your dedication to this country is paramount.  America is proud of each and every one of you.  Today, I was going to run the LIRRC cross country 5k. Husband and I got up bright and early and headed out to the park only to find out that the race was cancelled. So frustrating. I had checked the website last night and hubs checked this morning.  Again, so frustrating.

We headed back home, but I really wanted to run and I was still in my running clothes, so what did I do? I ran, of course. I had signed up for the #RacingforRelief for Hurricane Sandy victims.  I signed up for 3.1 (5K) miles and a quick Google revealed that from my house to our local park and back was 2.7 miles, so I figured I’d take a little detour on my way home to make up the mileage. I printed and pinned my bib and off I went. Well, I ended up doing almost 5 miles!

I know it was only 4.92 and I could’ve done the full 5 but my house was.right.there. #don’tcare

Me after my run with my sweaty bib.

A little slow for me but I was unsure of my route, so there was a lot of jogging in place and waiting for traffic to go by. 1:05 is usually my 10K time.  C’est la vie! I had a great time and felt awesome.  Anyway, now I know the path to the park and can’t wait to go on more runs. It was unseasonably warm (high 50s) and the park was filled with walkers, joggers, and the like. Swans, ducks, and geese littered the lake. I wish I could’ve taken pictures. It was so pretty. 🙂

Shakeology update! Tried a new recipe today; it was good (almond milk, cinnamon, nutmeg, ice, and chocolate shakeology). I still think I found my stride with almond milk, peanut butter, and chocolate shakeology. #nomnomnom

Also, I finally broke out the Turbo Fire DVDs. I did 2 classes for a total of a 50 minute workout last night. It was intense and such a good workout. It was completely worth the money.  So if you can afford it, go get it!  Tomorrow I am meeting with a friend for lunch so I won’t go to my usual kickboxing class. I will definitely be doing a DVD when I get home.

Alright, off to food prep for the week!  Have a great rest of your Sunday night!!!

3 Responses to “#RacingforRelief & Sunday Happenings!”

  1. Danielle (@itsaharleyylife) November 12, 2012 at 7:25 PM #

    great job on your run! I think its funny because if I’m finishing up my run and i have like 3.45 i’m like screw it I’m not going to run around aimlessly for no reason haha !

  2. Jenna November 12, 2012 at 9:27 AM #

    Oh boy! I’ve been wanting to try turbo fire out for some time now!! I hope you have a super day!! Spa ❤

  3. Carlyn November 11, 2012 at 6:20 PM #

    YAY! SO HAPPY!

Leave a Reply

