Wednesday Happenings & #Elf4Health Update!

28 Nov

Happy hump day, folks! We’re getting closer to the weekend, hooray! After having such a short week, a full week is kind of hard. 😦 I am also getting into finals mode so my stress levels are starting to creep up.

As you know, I am an #Elf4Health. My elf was MIA the first day, but she like myself, is in finals mode and simply got caught up in studying. But now she’s here and she got things rolling right away. So Monday’s challenge was #MeatlessMonday. I provided my elf with one of my favorite recipes:

Arroz con Gandules

As some of you may (or may not) know, I am Puerto Rican – 100% through and through. I know I don’t look “it.” But that is besides the point. Anyhoo, my mom makes the best arroz con gandules ever. It’s so rare when she makes it, so when she does (like she did with Thanksgiving), it is truly special. And the best part of arroz con gandules is the pegao. Pegao is Spanish for stuck, stuck together.  What is Pegao?

Rice that sticks to the bottom of the pot is called “pegao” and is crispy and delicious. Not everyone is skilled is making pegao – it is an art. Whenever my mom is putting away leftovers, I make sure she leaves the pot so I can get some.

Anyway, before I truly sound #fatfluential, instead of #fitfluential, Gina from Skinnytaste created a lightened up version. So I sent my elf that recipe, which you can find here.

In return, my elf sent me a link to this yummy Indian dish called Chola Masala. 

(source)

I love, love, love Indian food and one of my favorite places to eat in the city is BrickLane Curry House in the East Village.  So I was super psyched for this recipe – I plan on making it over the weekend since there are a lot a few items I need to buy to make this meal happen.

Tuesday’s challenge was to send a handwritten note to someone. I sent the super pretty card below to a fellow blogger.

Wednesday’s challenge is to try out a new exercise. I am trying a new gym class today at lunch called Pi-Yo which is a combination of pilates and yoga. I am super pumped for this. I am having a lot of fun participating in #elf4health. And it is still not too late to join. Just head over to TheLeanGreenBean or Nutrionella for more info!

Finaaaally, I finally tried BoomChickaPop that Carlyn over at JustKeepSweating raves about whenever she does a Target haul. I live a town over from Carlyn actually, and so when I went to Target this past weekend, I made it my mission to find it.

My verdict? It’s a win! So much flavor for only 35 calories a cup and a serving is 4 cups. Holy moly yum! So if you spot it in your neighb, go pick it up!

Alright, back to work I go. #bademployee Have a great day!

4 Responses to “Wednesday Happenings & #Elf4Health Update!”

  1. Nikki November 28, 2012 at 2:10 PM #

    1. Thank you so much for your words today about my post! It means the world to me! I wanted to reply via email but you are a non reply blogger so I couldnt. No worries though!

    2. Whats the Elf for Health? I have been seeing it floating around a lot lately.

    • urbaninsuburbia November 28, 2012 at 3:36 PM #

      You are so welcome! I meant every word I said. I totally relate because if I go to have a treat or something, people I know raise their eyebrows – but then there are others who say I need to stop losing weight and that I am hurting myself. It’s like jeez, I can’t make any of you happy, which is fine, because I need to ensure that I am happy! 🙂 I love, love, love your blog. I just went through some of it (I am at work, oops).I can’t wait to check out more. *deep breath* And Elf4Health was started by The Lean Green Bean Blog & Nutrionella where bloggers are paired up (changed weekly) and have to do various challenges for prizes and motivate each other on healthy living, or whatever they want. It’s a lot of fun so far. And it’s not too late – you can still join if you’re interested. 🙂

  2. Jenna November 28, 2012 at 12:54 PM #

    Great foodie pics!! I love boom chicks pop! Happy Wednesday! Spa ❤

    • urbaninsuburbia November 28, 2012 at 3:37 PM #

      Thanks!! After I wrote the post, I was sooo hungry, hahaha.

Leave a Reply

