Weekend Race FAIL

3 Dec

How is it that it’s Monday already? 😦 Yuck.

I hope everyone reading had a great weekend. My weekend went by incredibly fast. I was supposed to have raced not one, but two times this weekend. Did I? Nope. Ugh. Such a fail. I had all my gear ready to go for the races, but I just could not get out of bed. My husband tried getting me up both days long before race time and apparently all I did was mumble “I’m tired” and snuggle deep under my covers.

Eventually I did wake up and lace up my sneakers for runs in the neighborhood. I am not sure if it was a) that I was tired or b) frustrated that I missed both races, but my runs in themselves pretty much sucked. Sunday’s was way worse than Saturdays… just finishing in itself was a struggle and made me question my running capabilities.

photo

All I could think was how am I going to train for a marathon if I could barely eek out 10 miles this weekend (and not even 10 consecutive miles?!). But I went out there and did my tried my best right? (I figure if I say this enough times, I will believe it).

For this week’s fitness line up, I have kickboxing, pi-yo, bootcamp, and personal training lined up. I am also partaking in the NYC Run’s Ekiden relay on the 9th with 2 other SweatPink Ambassadors.

eikidenEkiden is a relay race, and the term originated in Japan.  The first ekiden race was sponsored by the Yomiuri Shimbun in 1917, and was run over three days between the old Japanese capital of Kyoto and the modern capital of Tokyo, a distance of 508 km, to celebrate the anniversary of the moving of the capital to Tokyo. As written in Japanese, Ekiden combines the characters for “station” and “transmit.”  The original concept of the race hearkens back to Japan’s old Tōkaidō communication and transportation system in which stations were posted at intervals along the road. In the race, each runner on a team runs the distance from one “station” to the next, and then hands off a cloth sash, or tasuki, to the next runner.

This ekiden will be comprised of four legs all starting and ending across from Tavern on the Green. I will be doing leg 2. The legs are:

Leg 1: Two lower loops of Central Park-3.4 miles

Leg 2: A five mile loop crossing the 102nd Street transverse

Leg 3: A full loop ofCentral Park – 6.1 miles

Leg 4: A sprint, one more lower loop of the park,1.7 miles.

As in a traditional Ekiden, the runners wear a sash that is passed from runner to runner. So after I cross the timing mat, I must hand the sash to the next runner. I am excited for this race and just hope I don’t fizzle on race day.

Speaking of upcoming races, I just heard about this race which will occur next year:

zombies

 

(source)

I am so in for this race! How fun! I have always wanted to do a zombie race. Now, to see if I can recruit anyone to join me?? Happy Monday (only how much more ’til the weekend?!)!

5 Responses to “Weekend Race FAIL”

  1. Linus Ly December 10, 2012 at 2:43 PM #

    Did you run the Ekiden? If you did, I might have a (blurry) photo of you or your team members here https://plus.google.com/photos/109153989599275468311/albums/5820048192082359473

    • urbaninsuburbia December 11, 2012 at 2:07 PM #

      I did!! That would be so great if you had a pic!

    • urbaninsuburbia December 12, 2012 at 9:04 AM #

      Thanks for this!! 🙂

  2. Jenna December 3, 2012 at 12:32 PM #

    Zombie races look so fun! I need to be on the lookout for one in my area!! Have a great Monday! Spa ❤

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thursday Happenings! « Urban In Suburbia - December 6, 2012

    […] night I met up with the rest of my team members for the upcoming Ekiden relay race. After getting slightly lost, I met up with them at Il Laboratorio del Gelato. Holy yum! […]

Leave a Reply

